MT Honors 63 Seniors at Murphy Dinner

May 9, 2001 · MT Media Relations
MURFREESBORO, Tenn. - The Charles M. "Bubber" Murphy Senior Awards Dinner was held at Middle Tennessee on Monday night in the James Union Building on campus. The seventh annual event honored 63 senior players and managers from the school's 16 NCAA Division I sports.

The event is named in honor of the former Blue Raider football coach and athletic director who served the University for nearly 40 years. Murphy was a four-sport letterman for MT in the mid-1930s, then took over as head football coach from 1947 to 1968 before being named athletic director following the '68 campaign. His record as head coach of the Blue Raiders was 155-63-8 and his win total remains the most in school history.

"This is a special evening for our senior athletes and managers and the Murphy family," athletic director Boots Donnelly said. "It's a token of appreciation to our seniors for all their dedication and hard work during their Blue Raider career."

Each head coach introduced their 2000-01 seniors, then presented them with a trophy recognizing them for their years with the team.

Following is a list of the 2001 senior honorees:

Baseball: Phillip Campbell, Kevin Davis, Scott Goodmon, Brandon Johnson, Kris Lammers, Josh Renick, Kevin Rose, Kyle Skillman, Nic Stone, Kyle Thomas, David VanWinkle, Jason Young

Basketball - Women: Kelly Chastain, Chrissy Davenport, Nicole Perkins

Basketball - Men: Quintina Duvall, Tommy King, Freddie Martinez, Marcus Mason, Fernando Ortiz, Dale Thomas, Kevin White, Jonathan Whitworth

Football: Isaiah Brown, Bo Browne, Korey Conner, Rashaad Craft, Keith Dollar, LeBron Elder, Jermaine Francis, Barry Hall, Marcus Harvey, Xavier Hatnot Chris Howington, Glen Jones, Terrence King, Brock Lillis, Gil Matias, Matt Miffleton, Keith Pauldo, Martez Phelps, Delvin Pikes, Reggie Primas, Diko Tinch, Brent Walker

Soccer: Morgan Guoan, Lindsay Henderson, Kenya Hickey, Jenn Robb

Softball: Wendy Pollock, Courtney Wallace

Tennis - Women: Niger Kaur

Tennis - Men: Randy Gibson, Belal Hamadeh, Mark Pellerin

Track & Field: Tanko Braimah, Doreisha Davis, William Smith

Volleyball: Abby Hartup, Lindsay Pritchard

Student Trainers: Josh Ezell, Kim Gatlin, Rhonda Neitzel.

Follow the Blue Raiders on Twitter @MTAthletics for continued updates.