Jackson, Klemetz Win Twice on First Day

September 20, 2002 · MT Media Relations
MURFREESBORO, Tenn. -- Tenth-ranked Daniel Klemetz and teammate Kirk Jackson both won twice during a rain-delayed first day of competition at the Middle Tennessee Fall Invitational Friday.

Rain early Friday morning forced many of the matches inside, with only two rounds of singles action completed. Play begins at 8:30 a.m. Saturday morning at the Buck Bouldin Tennis Center on the Middle Tennessee campus.

For the Blue Raiders, Klemetz defeated 38th-ranked Chad Harris of Vanderbilt, 6-3, 6-2, and then 53rd-rated Cody Conley of Louisville, 6-4, 6-3, in the ranked flight. Also in that flight, Blue Raider Michael Staniak dropped a 4-6, 4-6 decision to No. 67 Catalin Gard of Ole Miss, as well as a 4-6, 6-3, 5-7 decision to 48th-ranked Mark Dietrich of Tennessee.

Jackson won a pair of matches in the A1 singles flight, defeating Ben Stapp of Memphis, 4-6, 6-4, 10-1, before taking care of Auburn's Andre Boz, 6-2, 7-5. Also in that flight, freshman Brandon Allan won 3-6, 6-3, 12-10, over Alon Savidor of Southern Illinois, but Allan later lost to Scott Brown from Vanderbilt, 4-6, 2-6.

Sophomore Rishan Kuruppu defeated Stanislaus Rabinovics of Western Kentucky, 6-3, 6-3, in first-round action in the A2 singles bracket. Blue Raider Greg Pollack won his first-round match in the same bracket, over Evansville's Derek Boland, 6-4, 5-7, 10-8. Kuruppu and Tennessee Tech's Luis Aguerrevere, as well as Pollack and Raphael Rodrigues of Jacksonville State, will finish their second-round action at 8:30 a.m. Saturday.

Second round and quarterfinal action will be completed Saturday morning in all three singles flights, followed by two rounds of doubles and one round of consolation singles. No doubles action took place Friday. Also, Klemetz will take on 69th-ranked Paul Ciorascu, and Staniak will test Alex Hartman of Ole Miss in the ranked flight at 10:30 a.m.

Participating teams include: Arkansas-Little Rock, Auburn, Austin Peay, Evansville, Jacksonville State, Kentucky, Lipscomb, Louisville, Memphis, Middle Tennessee, Ouachita Baptist, Ole Miss, Southern Illinois, Tennessee, Tennessee State, Tennessee Tech, UT Martin, Vanderbilt and Western Kentucky.

Follow the Blue Raiders on Twitter @MTAthletics for continued updates.