Three Raiders Named All-Conference, Insell Coach of the Year

Givens Garners Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year; Holt Named Newcomer of the Year

February 27, 2007 · MT Media Relations
MURFREESBORO, Tenn. - Middle Tennessee placed two players on the First Team, one on the third Team and garnered Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Newcomer of the Year and Coach of the Year honors in the All-Sun Belt selections announced Tuesday by the conference office.

Senior Chrissy Givens added to a long list of accolades during her career at Middle Tennessee, earning First Team All-Sun Belt honors as well as Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year recognition. The Monroe, La., native becomes the first player since Louisiana Tech's Amanda Wilson in 1997-98 and 1998-99 to register back-to-back SBC Player of the Year honors (Louisiana Tech's Vickie Johnson, 1994-95, 1995-96 was the other) and the first player in Sun Belt history to garner two consecutive Defensive Player of the Year awards.

Former teammate Patrice Holmes is the only other player in league history to win the defensive award twice in a career (2002-03, 2004-05) and with Givens' honor, Middle Tennessee has won the last five SBC Defensive Player of the Year awards (Keisha McClinic won the other in 2003-04).

Givens was voted the Preseason Player of the Year and lived up to the billing, averaging 22.2 points per game along with 6.3 rebounds, 4.6 assists and 3.0 steals. She currently leads the Blue Raiders in all four categories and ranks fourth nationally in scoring, 64th in assists and 17th in steals.

Holt has served as the compliment to Givens all season for the Blue Raiders, providing a second scoring option and posting her best performances in some of the biggest games of the year. She was voted First Team All-Sun Belt and Newcomer of the Year, Middle Tennessee's first Newcomer of the Year award.

The Duluth, Ga., native scored 28 points in the season-opener against defending national champion Maryland and 21 points at then eighth-ranked Georgia. She also added 27 points against Old Dominion and 24 at Western Kentucky. Holt averages 16.9 points per game this season along with 6.2 rebounds and 2.8 steals. She ranks 72nd in the country in scoring and 30th in steals.

Senior Krystle Horton was voted Third Team All-Sun Belt after averaging 10.2 points and 6.6 rebounds per contest in league play. Horton was voted All-SBC all four years of her career, garnering First Team accolades as a freshman, Honorable Mention as a sophomore and Third Team honors last season.

The Murfreesboro, Tenn., native has played her best down the stretch for the Blue Raiders, posting back-to-back double-doubles in the final two games of the season. She scored 14 points with 10 rebounds at Troy last Thursday and netted a season-high 27 points with 10 rebounds on Senior Day against Florida Atlantic. Ten of her 12 double-figure scoring games came against Sun Belt opponents and she has eight contests with eight or more rebounds this year, including five double-figure outings.

After tying the school-record for wins with 26 and setting a Sun Belt record with 18 league victories, Rick Insell was voted Coach of the Year by his peers, the first such honor for a Middle Tennessee head coach since Lewis Bivens in 1988.

Insell has compiled a 46-14 record in his two seasons at the helm of the program, including this year's 26-3 mark, which includes the current 23-game winning streak. He has compiled more wins in his first two seasons than any other previous Blue Raider coach and has posted back-to-back 20-win campaigns for just the sixth time in school history.

Middle Tennessee opens play in the Sun Belt Championships Saturday at 12:30 p.m. against either South Alabama or North Texas. The Blue Raiders have won the last three conference tournament titles.

2006-07 All-Sun Belt
First Team All-Sun Belt

Adrianne Davie (Arkansas State, Sr., C)
Chrissy Givens (Middle Tennessee, Sr., G)
Amber Holt (Middle Tennessee, Jr., F)
Yolanda Jones (Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr., F)
Crystal Kelly (Western Kentucky, Jr., F)

Second Team All-Sun Belt
Kim Sitzmann (Arkansas-Little Rock, Fr., G)
Rudy Sims (Arkansas State, Sr., G)
Tyesha Lowery (Denver, Sr., G)
Lasma Jekabsone (Florida International, Sr., C)
Whitney Woodard (South Alabama, Sr., F)

Third Team All-Sun Belt
LaQuetta Ferguson (Florida International, Jr., G)
Krystle Horton (Middle Tennessee, Sr., F)
Le'Della English (New Orleans, Jr., G)
Kylie Morrissy (Troy, So., G)
Dominique Duck (Western Kentucky, So., F)

Player of the Year
Chrissy Givens (Middle Tennessee, Sr., G)

Defensive Player of the Year
Chrissy Givens (Middle Tennessee, Sr., G)

Newcomer of the Year
Amber Holt (Middle Tennessee, Jr., F)

Freshman of the Year
Kim Sitzmann (Arkansas-Little Rock, Fr., G)

Coach of the Year
Rick Insell, Middle Tennessee

Follow the Blue Raiders on Twitter @MTAthletics for continued updates.