Carroll, Swing Named Preseason All-Americans

November 12, 2003 · MT Media Relations
MURFREESBORO, Tenn. - Middle Tennessee juniors Brett Carroll and Chase Swing were both named to the 2004 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Preseason All-America team announced Tuesday that includes a group of standouts from 20 different Division I conferences.

Carroll and Swing were both Third Team selections and become the first Preseason All-Americans for the Blue Raiders since 2001 when Dewon Brazelton was a consensus Preseason All-American choice after a spectacular summer with USA Baseball. The duo joins New Mexico State's Billy Becher as representatives from the Sun Belt Conference.

Carroll, a Knoxville, Tenn., native, led the Blue Raiders in almost every offensive category in 2003, including belting 19 home runs with 52 RBIs, 54 runs scored and a .330 batting average. The Bearden High School product played all 60 games at third base last season, one of only two squad members to start every contest.

Swing started the 2003 campaign looking for a role on the pitching staff and developed into one of the league's top closers, saving a school-record 11 contests and collecting 53 strikeouts in just over 50 innings of work. Opponents batted just .214 against the Shelbyville, Tenn., native.

Middle Tennessee opens the 2004 season with a three-game series against IP-Fort Wayne, February 20-22 at Reese Smith Field, the first of 28 home outings during the campaign.

2004 NCBWA Preseason All-America Teams
First Team
Position Players
Pos. Name, School, Class

1B Billy Becher, New Mexico State, Sr.
2B Steve Sollmann, Notre Dame, Jr.
3B Michael Griffin, Baylor (also OF), Jr.
SS Dustin Pedroia, Arizona State, Jr.
C Jeff Clement, Southern California, So.
OF Jordan Foster, Lamar, Jr.
OF Ryan Patterson, LSU, Jr.
OF Sam Fuld, Stanford, Sr.
UT/ATH Stephen Head, Ole Miss, So.

SP Jason Windsor, CS Fullerton, Sr.
SP Philip Humber, Rice, Sr.
SP Jeff Niemann, Rice, Jr.
SP Wade Townsend, Rice, Jr.
SP Jared Weaver, Long Beach State, Jr.
RP Steven Register, Auburn, Sr.
RP Joey Devine, N.C. State, So.
RP Huston Street, Texas, Jr.

Second Team
Position Players

1B Jeff Larish, Arizona State, Jr.
2B Kevin Melillo, South Carolina, Jr.
3B Adam Fox, Ohio, Jr.
SS Ryan Braun, Miami (Fla.), So.
C Landon Powell, South Carolina, Jr.
OF Darryl Lawhorn, East Carolina, Jr.
OF Austin Davis, Rice, Sr.
OF Drew Moffitt, Wichita State, Sr.
UT/ATH Joe Koshansky, Virginia, Sr.

SP (tie) Brent Carter, Alabama, Jr.
SP Glen Perkins, Minnesota, So.
SP Chris Niesel, Notre Dame, Jr.
SP Mike Rogers, N.C. State, So.
SP Vern Sterry, N.C. State, Sr.
SP J.P. Howell, Texas, Jr.
SP Justin Orenduff, Va. Commonwealth, Jr.
RP Thomas Pauly, Princeton, Jr.
RP Austin Tubb, Southern Miss, Sr.

Third Team
Position Players

1B C.J. Smith, Florida, Jr.
1B (tie) Clay Harris, LSU, Jr.
1B Jim Fasano, Richmond, Jr.
2B Drew Anderson, Ohio State, Jr.
3B Neil Sellers, Eastern Kentucky, Sr.
3B (tie) Brett Carroll, Middle Tennessee, Jr.
SS Stephen Drew, Florida State, Jr.
SS (tie) Mike Rozema, St. John's, Sr.
C Brad Willcutt, Southern Miss, Jr.
OF (tie) Jeff Van Houten, Arizona, Jr.
OF Ben Harrison, Florida, Sr.
OF Jeff Fiorentino, Fla. Atlantic, Jr.
OF Mark Jurich, Louisville, Sr.
OF Sam Steidl, Minnesota, Sr.
OF Danny Putnam, Stanford, Jr.
DH/ATH Curtis Ledbetter, Nebraska, Jr.
(tie) UT/ATH Ryan Gordon, UNCG, Sr.
UT/ATH Micah Owings, Ga. Tech, So.

SP Steven Carter, Coastal Carolina, Sr.
SP Randy Beam, Florida Atlantic, Sr.
SP J.D.Cockroft, Miami (Fla.), Sr.
SP Quinton Robertson, Nebraska, Sr.
SP Scott Lewis, Ohio State, Jr.
SP Mark Romanczuk, Stanford, So.
SP Clayton Jerome, TCU, Sr.
(tie) SP Mike Pelfrey, Wichita State, So.
RP Zane Carlson, Baylor, Sr.
RP Chase Swing, Middle Tennessee, Jr.
(tie) RP Chris Noonan, Seton Hall, Sr.

Follow the Blue Raiders on Twitter @MTAthletics for continued updates.