Five Blue Raiders Named SBC All-Conference; Wright, Westbrook First Team

December 2, 2003 · MT Media Relations
MURFREESBORO, Tenn. - Five Middle Tennessee football players were honored today when the Sun Belt Conference released its 2003 All-Conference teams. Brandon Westbrook, Kerry Wright, Michael Woods, Brian Kelly, and Demetrios Walker were all tabbed all-conference by the league coaches, media relation's directors, and selected media members.

"It is a great honor for all our players and very deserving," head coach Andy McCollum said. "The season did not go the way we had hoped but we still had some big moments and these five guys were a big reason for some of that success."

Westbrook and Wright were first team selections while Woods, Kelly, and Walker made the second team. In three years, the Blue Raiders have now produced 12 first team players and 11 second team members.

Westbrook, a senior, is a three-time first team member and is coming off a year in which he saw time at center and left tackle. The Cumming, Ga., native led the Blue Raiders in snaps played and knockdowns.

Wright turned in the best performance of any receiver in the history of the Sun Belt Conference with 73 receptions for a league and school record 1,280 yards. The juniors 106.7 yards a game average was also a new SBC mark while his nine touchdown receptions established a new school record. But despite recording one of the best seasons of any receiver in the country this season (ranks fifth nationally in receiving yards), Wright was still not a unanimous first team pick.

Woods earned second team honors for the second time in his career after posting 58 tackles, two interceptions and a sack in 2003. Woods' 89-yard interception for a touchdown against New Mexico State sealed the Blue Raider victory.

Walker, a senior from Kansas City, Mo., was the leader up front for the Blue Raiders and had a memorable season. Walker ranked second in the Sun Belt among all defensive linemen and ends in tackles with a career-best 50 while leading the Blue Raiders in sacks with five and tackles for loss with 7.5.

Kelly, the all-time career leader in field goal percentage at Middle Tennessee, earned his second straight honor as a member of the league's second team. The Woodstock, Ga., native scored a career-best 76 points and hit 13 of 16 three-pointers.

2003 Sun Belt Conference Football All-Conference Teams *=unanimous pick

First Team
Offensive Line: Andy Brewster, Jr., North Texas; Kimani Jones, Sr., Arkansas State; *Steve Subia, Jr., New Mexico State; Brandon Westbrook, Sr., Middle Tennessee; *Nick Zuniga, Sr., North Texas Tight End: Chris Cooley, Sr., Utah State Wide Receivers: *Fred Stamps, Sr., Louisiana-Lafayette; Kerry Wright, Jr., Middle Tennessee Quarterback: Scott Hall, Jr., North Texas Running Backs: *Patrick Cobbs, Jr., North Texas; Zach Gerstner, Sr., Idaho

Defensive Line:
Adrian Awasom, Jr., North Texas; John Bradley, Sr., Arkansas State; Antonio Floyd, Sr., Louisiana-Lafayette; *Brandon Kennedy, Sr., North Texas Linebackers: Les Echols, Sr., Arkansas State; Chris Hurd, Sr., North Texas; Cody Spencer, Sr., North Texas Defensive Backs: Jonas Buckles, Jr., North Texas; *Johnathan Burke, Sr., Arkansas State; Chris Harris, Jr., Louisiana-Monroe; *Craig Jones, Sr., North Texas

Special Teams
Kicker: Sean Comiskey, So., Louisiana-Lafayette Punter: Joel Stelly, So., Louisiana-Monroe Return Specialist: Charles Estes, Jr., Louisiana-Monroe All-Purpose: David Fiefia, Sr., Utah State

Second Team
Offensive Line:
D'Anthony Batiste, Sr., Louisiana-Lafayette; Bruce Hampton, Jr., Louisiana-Monroe; Trevor Hutton, Sr., Utah State; Matt Martinez, Sr., Idaho; Jake Scott, Sr., Idaho Tight End: Mike McCoy, Sr., Idaho Wide Receivers: Ronshay Jenkins, Sr., New Mexico State; Mack Vincent, Sr., Louisiana-Monroe Quarterback: Travis Cox, Jr., Utah State Running Backs: David Fiefia, Sr., Utah State; Kevin Payne, Fr., Louisiana-Monroe

Defensive Line:
Brian Howard, Sr., Idaho; Ronald Tupea, Jr., Utah State; Demetrios Walker, Sr., Middle Tennessee; Corey Williams, Sr., Arkansas State Linebackers: Taylor Casey, Sr., North Texas; Maurice Sonnier, Sr., Louisiana-Monroe; Robert Watts, Jr., Utah State Defensive Backs: C.C. Brown, Jr., Louisiana-Lafayette; Rod Bryant, Sr., Idaho; Terrance Washington, Fr., Utah State; Michael Woods, Sr., Middle Tennessee

Special Teams
Brian Kelly, Sr., Middle Tennessee Punter: Brad Kadlubar, Jr., North Texas Return Specialist: David Fiefia, Sr., Utah State All-Purpose: Ronshay Jenkins, Sr., New Mexico State

Player of the Year: Brandon Kennedy, DT, Sr., North Texas
Offensive Player of the Year: Patrick Cobbs, RB, Jr., North Texas
Defensive Player of the Year: Chris Hurd, LB, Sr., North Texas
Newcomer of the Year: Aubrey Dorisme, DL, Jr., New Mexico State
Freshman of the Year: Kevin Payne, RB, Fr., Louisiana-Monroe
Coach of the Year: Darrell Dickey, North Texas

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.