Dunbar named to Outland Trophy Watch List

Junior is one of 41 players being considered

June 13, 2007 · MT Media Relations

MURFREESBORO, Tenn. - The Football Writers Association of America has announced the 2007 Outland Trophy Watch List and Middle Tennessee's Franklin Dunbar is among the nominees. A total of 41 standout linemen from across the country are being considered for this prestigious award.

Dunbar joins Louisiana-Monroe's Kyle Cunningham as the only representatives from the Sun Belt Conference.

The Waycross, Ga., native was a second team all-conference selection in 2006 as a sophomore and already appears on numerous preseason lists as a first team pick for 2007. Dunbar, who has started 18 consecutive games, tallied 62 knockdowns in 2006 to go along with a cumulative grade of 76.3 percent and was the only Blue Raider lineman to start all 13 games.

The Outland Trophy has been awarded to the best interior lineman in college football since 1946. The winner is selected by the FWAA's All-America Committee, which selects the association's 25-man All-America team and picks the three Outland Trophy finalists and winner.

The 2007 Outland Trophy announcement will be on Dec. 6 in Orlando, Fla., on the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

Additional candidates may be added during the course of the season. Tackles, guards and centers are eligible for consideration.

Following is the 41-man Watch List for 2007:

Jeff Akeroyd, Houston OT Sr. Lubbock, Texas
Sete Aulai, BYU C Sr. Carson, Calif.
Sam Baker, USC OT Sr. Tustin, Calif.
Kirk Barton, Ohio State OT Sr. Massillon, Ohio
Alex Boone, Ohio State OT Jr. Lakewood, Ohio
Ryan Clady, Boise State OT Jr. Rialto, Calif.
Robert Conley, Utah G Jr. LaMarque, Texas
Kyle Cunningham, Louisiana-Monroe OT Sr. Oklahoma City, Okla.
Dan Davis, Connecticut DT Sr. Planfield, N.J.
Glenn Dorsey, LSU DT Sr. Gonzales, La.
Franklin Dunbar, Middle Tennessee OT Jr. Waycross, Ga.
Ryan Durand, Syracuse G Jr. Leominster, Mass.
King Dunlap, Auburn OT Sr. Brentwood, Tenn.
Sedrick Ellis, USC DT Sr. Chino, Calif.
Andre Fluellen, Florida State DT Sr. Cartersville, Ga.
Eric Foster, Rutgers DT Sr. Homestead, Fla.
Adrian Grady, Louisville DT Jr. Nichollsville, Ga.
Dallas Griffin, Texas C Sr. Katy, Texas
Antron Harper, Navy C Sr. Eastman, Ga.
Robby Heos, Rice G Sr. Pearland, Texas
Matt Hines, Nevada DT Sr. Modesto, Calif.
Steve Justice, Wake Forest C Sr. Port Orange, Fla.
Adam Kraus, Michigan G Sr. New Orleans, La.
Doug Legursky, Marshall C Sr. Beckley, W.V.
Kory Lichtensteiger, Bowling Green C Sr. Van Wert, Ohio
Matty Lindner, TCU G Sr. Comfort, Texas
Derek Lokey, Texas DT Sr. Denton, Texas
Jake Long, Michigan OT Sr. Lapeer, Mich.
Jonathan Luigs, Arkansas C Jr. Little Rock, Ark.
Alex Mack, California C Jr. Santa Barbara, Calif.
Michael Oher, Ole Miss OT Jr. Memphis, Tenn.
Frank Okam, Texas DT Sr. Dallas, Texas
Barry Richardson, Clemson OT Sr. Mount Pleasant, S.C.
Matt Slauson, Nebraska OT Jr. Colorado Springs, Colo.
Andre Smith, Alabama OT So. Birmingham, Ala.
Pedro Sosa, Rutgers OT Sr. Union City, N.J.
John Sullivan, Notre Dame C Sr. Old Greenwich, Conn.
Cody Wallace, Texas A&M C Sr. Cuero, Texas
Ryan Wendell, Fresno State G Sr. Diamond Bar, Calif.
Eric Wood, Louisville C Jr. Cincinnati, Ohio
Jeremy Zuttah, Rutgers OT Sr. Edison, N.J.

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.