Men's Tennis Wins Again, 5-2

February 22, 2004 · MT Media Relations
MURFREESBORO, Tenn. - The 63rd-ranked Middle Tennessee men's tennis team won the doubles point and four of the six singles matches to down 55th-ranked Purdue, 5-2, Sunday afternoon at the Racquet Club.

The Blue Raiders (4-4) won their fourth consecutive home match this season and second straight overall. Head coach Dale Short was very happy with the team's performance on Sunday and the weekend as a whole.

"I'm very happy to get a win. I think our team is beginning to find its way after struggling early," Short said. "I think we're twice as good as we were two or three weeks ago because we're getting healthy and guys and more mature."

Middle Tennessee lost the opening doubles match but came back to win the final two and take the doubles point.

At No. 1, Purdue's David Robinson and Paul Rose defeated 30th-ranked Kirk Jackson and Trevor Short, 8-5. But 46th-ranked Brandon Allan and Kai Schledorn bested Filip Koziell and Sounak Chatterjee, 8-0, at No. 2 before Rishan Kuruppu and Andreas Siljestrom combined to give the Blue Raiders the opening point of the match with an 8-5 triumph over Colin Foster and Troy Havens.

Middle Tennessee won two of the three three-set matches in singles, and won a pair in straight sets to decide the dual match before the final two singles pairings went on the court.

Siljestrom came back to defeat Havens at No. 1, 3-6, 6-0, 6-3, but Trevor Short fell, 6-3, 3-6, 3-6, to Rose at No. 2. Schledorn took care of Robinson, 6-3, 6-3, at No. 3, while Jackson defeated Foster, 6-4, 6-3, at No. 4.

Kuruppu battled Jarred Leibner at No. 5 before finally winning in a supertiebreaker at No. 5, 6-3, 4-6, 10-3. Freshman Aidan Fitzgerald fell 5-7, 3-6, at No. 6.

Middle Tennessee travels to Tuscaloosa, Ala., to face the 17th-ranked Crimson Tide on Wednesday at 3 p.m. The Blue Raiders return home March 8 to face Indiana State.


1. Andreas Siljestrom (MT) def. Troy Havens (PU), 3-6, 6-0, 6-3
2. Paul Rose (PU) def. Trevor Short (MT), 3-6, 6-3, 6-3
3. Kai Schledorn (MT) def. David Robinson (PU), 6-3, 6-3
4. Kirk Jackson (MT) def. Colin Foster (PU), 6-4, 6-3
5. Rishan Kuruppu (MT) def. Jarred Leibner (PU), 6-3, 4-6, 10-3
6. Eric Hodgman (PU) def. Aidan Fitzgerald (MT), 7-5, 6-3

1. Robinson-Rose (PU) def. (30) Short-Jackson, 8-5
2. (46) Brandon Allan-Schledorn (MT) def. Filip Koziell-Sounak Chatterjee (PU), 8-0
3. Kuruppu-Siljestrom (MT) def. Foster-Havens (PU), 8-5

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.