Four Lady Raiders Named All-SBC

May 15, 2001 · MT Media Relations
LAS CRUCES, NM.--The 2001 all-Sun Belt Conference softball team was announced Thursday night by the league office with four Lady Raiders recognized for their outstanding play during the season.

While Louisiana-Lafayette swept player and pitcher of the year honors, the Lady Raiders had two named first team all-SBC including Jennifer Martinez, who was named to the first team as a pitcher joining the Pitcher of the Year, Melissa Coronado. Martinez was also voted as a unanimous selection as the league's designated player.

For the first time in her career Martinez was not named pitcher of the year. She was the first player in OVC history to earn pitcher of the year honors in back-to-back seasons as a freshman and sophomore during the 1999 and 2000 campaigns.

Martinez recorded a 17-12 record on the season with an ERA of 1.09, which ranks second in the league. She led the league with 186 strikeouts and shutouts with 11. As the team's designated player, she hit .349 during the regular season ranking fifth and led the conference with 19 doubles. She also had the third highest slugging percentage at .526.

First-year catcher Lindsay Azevedo hit .288 with four homeruns and 32 RBI earning first team accolades for her efforts behind the plate. The Concord, Calif., native remarkably caught all 407 innings during the season.

Named to the second team was pitcher Stayc Preator and outfielder Kip Phillips.

Preator joined Martinez during the season to provide a powerful one-two punch. The duo helped establish the Lady Raiders as the most dominant pitching staff in the league leading the conference in earned run average, strikeouts, complete games, and shutouts.

Preator was 16-8 on the season with an ERA of 1.49, good for fifth in the conference. She was third in the league in innings pitched, complete games, and strikeouts behind Coronado and Martinez and ranked second with 10 shutouts on the year.

Phillips led the Lady Raiders with 54 hits during the season and ranked third in the SBC with 21 stolen bases. From the lead-off spot, Phillips also led the team in runs scored with 29 and was ninth in the conference.

2001 All-Sun Belt Conference Softball Team * = unanimous first team selection

First Team P - *Melissa Coronado, Jr., Louisiana-Lafayette Jennifer Martinez, Jr., Middle Tennessee C - Lindsay Azevedo, Jr., Middle Tennessee 1B - *Jana Mower, Sr., Louisiana-Lafayette 2B - *Jill Robertson, Fr., Louisiana-Lafayette SS - *Alana Addison, Jr., Louisiana-Lafayette 3B - Mel Briggs, Jr., New Mexico State OF - Jerie Alexander, Jr., Louisiana-Lafayette Lesley Gillen, Jr., Florida International Kelly Nicosia, Jr., Florida International DP - *Jennifer Martinez, Jr., Middle Tennessee

Second Team P - Judy Block, Fr., New Mexico State Mila Nelson, Sr., Florida International Stayc Preator, So., Middle Tennessee C - Riley Garcia, Fr., Western Kentucky 1B - Shannon Carey, Sr., Florida International 2B - Tania Somoano, Sr., Florida International SS - Stephanie Wolter, So., Florida International 3B - Jennifer Owens, Fr., Florida International OF - Missy Martin, Jr., Louisiana-Lafayette Lizette Olivares, Sr., New Mexico State Kip Phillips, So., Middle Tennessee DP - Sabrina Smith, Jr., Florida International

Player of the Year - Alana Addison, SS, Jr., Louisiana-Lafayette Pitcher of the Year - Melissa Coronado, Jr., Louisiana-Lafayette Co-Freshmen of the Year - Jennifer Owens, 3B, Florida International Jill Robertson, 2B, Louisiana-Lafayette Newcomer of the Year - Lesley Gillen, OF, Jr., Florida International Coach of the Year - Stefni Whitton-Lotief, Louisiana-Lafayette

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.