Blue Raider Netters Lose To No. 31 San Diego

March 25, 2004 · MT Media Relations
SAN DIEGO, Calif. - The No. 59-ranked Middle Tennessee men's tennis team dropped a 4-0 decision to No. 31 San Diego Thursday to fall to 5-11 on the seson. It was the fifth straight loss for the Blue Raiders.

"I believe our guys have strong character and they are working hard," Middle Tennessee coach Dale Short said. "We are at a low point with our confidence, but we have played a very challenging schedule, one of the toughest in the country, so we can still get things going before we get into (Sun Belt Conference) play. It's just been a tough stretch."

Middle Tennessee's did not win a set in the match, which was retired after San Diego won the doubles point  and singles matches at Nos. 1, 2 and 3.

In doubles,
Middle Tennessee's No. 28-ranked doubles team of Kai Schledorn and Brandon Allen suffered an 8-6 setback at No. 1 to USD's Jason Pongsrikul and Nic Beuque, and the Toreros won the doubles point with a 9-7 triumph at No. 2, as Robbie Blair and Mirza Koristovic defeated Kirk Jackson and Trevor Short.

The Blue Raiders did win at No. 3 doubles, with Rishan Kuruppu and Andreas Siljestrom taking a 9-7 decision over Matt Ozurovich and Oscar Plotnik.

In singles, 44th-ranked Pierrick Ysern won 6-2, 7-5, at No. 1 over Siljestrom, while Blair defeated Jackson at No. 2, 6-3, 6-2. Pongsrikul gave the Toreros the victory with a 6-3, 6-2, triumph over Anant Sitaram at No. 3.

The other three matches did not finish, as USD was playing its fifth match in eight days.

Middle Tennessee returns home this weekend after six straight road tilts, hosting Louisiana-Lafayette at 2:30 p.m. Friday at the Buck Bouldin Tennis Center.

1. (44) Pierrick Ysern (USD) def. Andreas Siljestrom (MT), 6-2, 7-5
2. Robbie Blair (USD) def. Kirk Jackson(MT), 6-3, 6-2
3. Jason Pongsrikul (USD) def. Anant Sitaram (MT), 6-3, 6-2
4. Trevor Short (MT) vs. Nic Beuque (USD), DNF
5. Rishan Kuruppu (MT) vs. Mirza Koristovic (USD), DNF
6. Brandon Allan (MT) vs. Jeff Das (USD), DNF

1. Pongsrikul-Beuque (USD) def. (28) Allan-Schledorn (MT), 8-6
2. Blair-Koristovic (USD) def. Short-Jackson (MT), 9-7
3. Siljestrom-Kuruppu (MT) def. Matt Ozurovich-Oscar Plotnik (USD), 9-7

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.