Blue Raiders Battle for 4-2 Victory

April 4, 2004 · MT Media Relations
MURFREESBORO, Tenn. - The 74th-ranked Middle Tennessee men's tennis team won the doubles point and battled back from a set down to win a pair of singles matches and avenge an earlier defeat, winning 4-2 over 57th-ranked Old Dominion Sunday morning at the Buck Bouldin Tennis Center.

For the second match in a row, freshman Andreas Siljestrom won the clinching match in singles at No. 2, defeating Zoltan Csanadi, 0-6, 7-6 (7), 6-4, erasing a pair of match points in the tiebreaker and giving the Blue Raiders their seventh consecutive home victory of the season.

Middle Tennessee (7-11) got off to a good start with a hard-fought doubles point, winning at Nos. 2 and 3.

Siljestrom and Aidan Fitzgerald won 8-3 over Csanadi and Adriano Mello at No. 3, but the sixth-ranked ODU duo of Ivan van der Merwe and Nathaniel Grover broke serve in the final game to take an 8-6 triumph over 28th-ranked Brandon Allan and Kai Schledorn.

The Blue Raiders won the doubles point in a topsy-turvy match at No. 2, a 9-7 victory by Trevor Short and Kirk Jackson over ODU's Calin Milos and Niklas Oskarsson.

In singles the visiting Monarchs won a pair of matches and had leads in two other tilts, but Middle Tennessee came back to avenge a loss three weeks ago at the Blue-Gray Collegiate Tennis Classic.

No. 18 van der Merwe won 6-4, 6-2, over Jackson at No. 1 and Henrique Cancado defeated Rishan Kuruppu, 6-0, 6-3, at No. 5 for the Monarchs.

Schledorn lost the first set, 6-2, but came back to win the final two, 6-4, 6-4, at No. 3, while Short won 6-4, 7-6 (3), at No. 4 over Mello. The unfinished match had Anant Sitaram leading 4-0 in the third set over Oskarsson at No. 6.

"We really battled today, starting with the doubles," Blue Raider head coach Dale Short said. "It was good to see a team that was really bleeding heading into the weekend work so hard and get two wins."

Middle Tennessee visits 20th-ranked Vanderbilt Wednesday before hosting Tulane and UAB next weekend in the final home matches of the year. April 10 is Wally Tidwell Fan Day, with the first 50 fans receiving free t-shirts.


1. (18) Ivan van der Merwe (ODU) def. Kirk Jackson (MT), 6-4, 6-2
2. Andreas Siljestrom (MT) def. Zoltan Csanadi (ODU), 0-6, 7-6 (7), 6-4
3. Kai Schledorn (MT) def. Calin Milos (ODU), 2-6, 6-4, 6-4
4. Trevor Short (MT) def. Adriano Mello (ODU), 6-4, 7-6 (3)
5. Henrique Cancado (ODU) def. Rishan Kuruppu (MT), 6-0, 6-3
6. Anant Sitaram (MT) vs. Niklas Oskarsson (ODU), DNF

1. (6) van der Merwe-Nathaniel Grover (ODU) def. Brandon Allan-Schledorn (MT), 8-6
2. Short-Jackson (MT) def. Milos-Oskarsson (ODU), 9-7
3. Siljestrom-Aidan Fitzgerald (MT) def. Csanadi-Mello (ODU), 8-3

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.