Bishop Named to Pre-Season Wallace Award List

Bishop hit 17 home runs and posted a team-high 65 RBIs in 2007

December 8, 2007 · MT Media Relations
2008 Brooks Wallace Player of the Year Award Pre-Season "Wallace Watch" Released

Lubbock, Texas - Middle Tennessee junior Rawley Bishop has been named to the pre-season release of the 2008 Brooks Wallace Player of the Year Award Watch List.

The Wallace Award is presented to the nation's top collegiate baseball player in conjunction with the College Baseball Hall of Fame's annual induction festivities. The 2008 award banquet will be held Thursday, July 3, in the United Spirit Arena on the campus of Texas Tech University.

In 2007, Bishop was voted Second Team All-Sun Belt and to the SBC Championships All-Tournament team as he batted .329 with 15 doubles and 17 homers, tying for sixth on the single-season home run charts.

He also recorded a team-high 65 RBIs, ranking sixth in the single-season record books, and added 54 runs scored, second most on the club. Bishop had a 21-game hitting streak, the longest of his career and longest by any Blue Raider in at least a decade during the 2007 season.

Bishop is one of just three Sun Belt players named to the 2008 Brooks Wallace Player of the Year Award Watch List. Florida Atlantic's William Block and Mike McKenna were also named to the list.

The Wallace Award is a dedication to the memory of the former Texas Tech player and assistant coach Brooks Wallace. Wallace was a slick-fielding shortstop at Texas Tech from 1977 to 1980. A four-year starter, he was named All-Southwest Conference and All-District his senior year. He led the Red Raiders to their first-ever appearance in the Southwest Conference Tournament in 1980.

After playing two years in the Texas Rangers organization, he returned to Texas Tech and served as a graduate assistant and later as an assistant coach. In the summer of 1984, he was diagnosed with cancer and fought the disease courageously until his death on March 24, 1985, at age 27. The Plano, Texas, native was married to the former Sandy Arnold and they had one daughter, Lindsay Ryan.

Last year's Brooks Wallace award went to Vanderbilt pitcher, David Price. Price was the first overall pick in the 2007 First-Year Player Draft and is currently pitching in the Tampa Bay Rays organization. The 2006 winner was standout pitcher/designated hitter Brad Lincoln of Houston. Nebraska's Alex Gordon, now with the Kansas City Royals, took home the 2005 trophy. The inaugural award was given in 2004 to Kurt Suzuki of Cal State Fullerton, who is now catching for the Oakland A's.

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.