Men's Tennis Falls to UALR, 4-1

April 25, 2004 · MT Media Relations
MOBILE, Ala. - The 61st-ranked Middle Tennessee men's tennis team lost a hardfought doubles point and was unable to turn the momentum, dropping a 4-1 decision to Arkansas-Little Rock Sunday morning during the final day of play in the Sun Belt Championships at the Mobile Tennis Center.

The Blue Raiders end the season 9-15 overall and fourth in the Sun Belt. The loss was the second this season to UALR, who defeated Middle Tennessee, 5-2, on January 31 in Little Rock.

The Trojans lost the first doubles match but came back to take the final two to win the first point of the dual.

Middle Tennessee Trevor Short and Kirk Jackson, playing in the final dual matches as a Blue Raider, won the opening doubles match at No. 2 over Mark Edney and Alexei Poutchinets, 8-2.

UALR won the final two doubles matches to take the point, with Jarrad Bunt and Mithun Murali defeating Aidan Fitzgerald and Andreas Siljestrom, 8-6, at No. 3, before Bastian Faisst and Sebastian Falk won 8-6 over 57th-ranked Brandon Allan and Kai Schledorn at No. 1.

In singles the Trojans won two quick matches but struggled to finish off the Blue Raiders, who fought until the match ended.

Faisst, ranked 95th nationally, defeated Jackson, 6-2, 7-6, at No. 1, and Dave Baxendine won 7-6, 6-3, over Short at No. 4.

Middle Tennessee's only point of the match came at No. 6, where Rishan Kuruppu won again, defeating Bunt, 6-4, 7-6.

UALR closed out the match with a 6-4, 3-6, 6-3, triumph at No. 5, with Murali taking care of Allan.


1. (95) Bastian Faisst (UALR) def. Kirk Jackson (MT), 6-2, 7-6
2. (82) Andreas Siljestrom (MT) vs. Alexei Poutchinets (UALR), DNF
3. Kai Schledorn (MT) vs. Sebastian Falk (UALR), DNF
4. Dave Baxendine (UALR) def. Trevor Short (MT), 7-6, 6-3
5. Mithun Murali (UALR) def. Brandon Allan (MT), 6-4, 3-6, 6-3
6. Rishan Kuruppu (MT) def. Jarrad Bunt (UALR), 6-4, 7-6

1. Faisst-Falk (UALR) def. (57) Allan-Schledorn (MT), 8-6
2. Short-Jackson (MT) def. Mark Edney-Poutchinets (UALR), 8-2
3. Bunt-Murali (UALR) def. Aidan Fitzgerald-Siljestrom (MT), 8-6

Follow the Blue Raiders on Twitter @MTAthletics for continued updates.