Hines Named Wallace Watch Final 100

Collegiate Baseball Foundation narrows watch list

May 5, 2008 · MT Media Relations
Lubbock, Texas - Middle Tennessee junior Nathan Hines has been named to the final 100 of the 2008 Brooks Wallace Player of the Year Award Watch List as announced by the Collegiate Baseball Foundation on Monday.

The Wallace Award is presented to the nation's top collegiate baseball player in conjunction with the College Baseball Hall of Fame's annual induction festivities. The 2008 award banquet will be held Thursday, July 3, in the United Spirit Arena on the campus of Texas Tech University.

This season Hines leads the team in doubles with 17 and triples with four, is second in home runs with 11 and is fourth in batting with a .362 average. Hines has started all 46 games for the Blue Raiders in centerfield and has 46 RBI and has scored 46 runs in 2008.

Defensively, he has a perfect fielding percentage with three assists and 120 putouts.

Hines is one of just three Sun Belt players named to the final 100 of the 2008 Brooks Wallace Player of the Year Award Watch List. Florida Atlantic's Mike McKenna and Western Kentucky's Chad Cregar were also named to the list.

The Wallace Award is a dedication to the memory of the former Texas Tech player and assistant coach Brooks Wallace. Wallace was a slick-fielding shortstop at Texas Tech from 1977 to 1980. A four-year starter, he was named All-Southwest Conference and All-District his senior year. He led the Red Raiders to their first-ever appearance in the Southwest Conference Tournament in 1980.

After playing two years in the Texas Rangers organization, he returned to Texas Tech and served as a graduate assistant and later as an assistant coach. In the summer of 1984, he was diagnosed with cancer and fought the disease courageously until his death on March 24, 1985, at age 27. The Plano, Texas, native was married to the former Sandy Arnold and they had one daughter, Lindsay Ryan.

Last year's Brooks Wallace award went to Vanderbilt pitcher, David Price. Price was the first overall pick in the 2007 First-Year Player Draft and is currently pitching in the Tampa Bay Rays organization. The 2006 winner was standout pitcher/designated hitter Brad Lincoln of Houston. Nebraska's Alex Gordon, now with the Kansas City Royals, took home the 2005 trophy. The inaugural award was given in 2004 to Kurt Suzuki of Cal State Fullerton, who is now catching for the Oakland A's.

Follow the Blue Raiders on Twitter @MTAthletics for continued updates.