Brentz Receives Freshman All-America Honors

Freshman standout receives second All-America honor

June 9, 2008 · MT Media Relations
MORGANTOWN, W.Va. - Middle Tennessee freshman Bryce Brentz has been named to the inaugural Pro-Line Athletic National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) Freshman All-American Team, the organization announced on Monday.

Brentz was named First Team designated hitter/utility as he played this position the last half of the 2008 season.

A total of 34 standout freshman college baseball players from every part of the country are featured on the inaugural Pro-Line Athletic NCBWA Freshman All-American Team.

The 2008 Pro-Line Athletic NCBWA Freshman All-American Team is comprised from 15 conferences and seven conference championship teams. The two All-American squads are also made up of 11 conference "Rookie of the Year" winners.

Brentz has also been named Sun Belt Freshman of the Year and a week ago was named to Collegiate Baseball's Freshman All-America team.

Tennessee's Kentrail Davis and Bryan Morgado were named to the First Team and Second Team respectively and were the only other players from the state of Tennessee awarded NCBWA Freshman All-America Honors.

The 2008 NCBWA National Freshman Player of the Year and National Freshman Pitcher of the Year will be announced on Tuesday, June 10.

Pro-Line Athletic / NCBWA 2008 Freshman All-America Team

First Team Pos. Name, School

C Rafael Neda, New Mexico

1B Hunter Morris, Auburn

2B Jedd Gyorko, West Virginia

3B Rob Segedin, Tulane

SS Derek Dietrich, Georgia Tech

DH/UT Bryce Brentz, Middle Tennessee

OF Kentrail Davis, Tennessee

OF Brian Fletcher, Auburn

OF Ryan Lockwood, USF

OF Michael Choice, Texas-Arlington

Pos. Name School SP Chris Hernandez, Miami-Florida

SP Shane Davis, Canisius

SP Seth Maness, East Carolina

SP Chance Ruffin, Texas

RP Kevin Rhoderick, Oregon State

RP Chase Dempsay, Houston

RP Colin Bates, North Carolina

Second Team Pos. Name, School

C Cameron Rupp, Texas

1B Jerrud Sabourin, Indiana

2B Scott Woodward, Coastal Carolina

3B Stuart Tapley, Florida State

SS Rick Hague, Rice

DH/UT Mike McGee, Florida State

OF Jake Williams, Wofford

OF Dan Grovatt, Virginia

OF Nick Cox, Columbia

OF Tyler Holt, Florida State

Pos. Name School SP Matt Harvey, North Carolina

SP Deck McGuire, Georgia Tech

SP Bryan Morgado, Tennessee

SP Turner Phelps, James Madison

RP Thomas Girdwood, Elon

RP Cody Martin, Gonzaga

RP Thain Simon, Santa Clara

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.