Gee, Suber make preseason all-conference team

Coaches pick FAU to win title

July 21, 2008 · MT Media Relations

NEW ORLEANS - Two Middle Tennessee football players were honored today as preseason first team All-Sun Belt selections as announced by the league office at its annual Football Media Days. All-purpose standout Desmond Gee and defensive back Alex Suber were voted to the first team by the leagues eight head coaches and selected media members.

As a team, the Blue Raiders were picked to finish fifth in the league as voted by the Sun Belt's eight head coaches. Florida Atlantic was selected to represent the league in the New Orleans Bowl on Dec. 21, while Troy was picked to finish second and Louisiana-Monroe third. The Blue Raiders will play the top three teams at home this season.

"We are very proud of Desmond and Alex and feel they are very deserving of the recognition," said Head Coach Rick Stockstill.

Gee, from Greenville, Fla., made the preseason team as a return specialist. The junior has earned first team all-conference honors two years in a row as an all-purpose performer and is coming off a season that saw him snag a personal-best 29 receptions. Last year, Gee led the Blue Raiders in all-purpose yards with 1,323 and paced the team in plays of 20 or more yards with 26.

Suber, a junior from Tampa, Fla., was voted as one of the SBC's top defensive backs. An honorable mention all-conference member last year, Suber had a career year with 59 tackles, 7.5 tackles for loss, an interception, five pass breakups, three forced fumbles, and two fumble recoveries.

The Blue Raiders report to camp on August 1 to begin preparing for the season opener against conference foe Troy on August 28. Kickoff is set for 6:30 PM CST.

2008 Preseason All-Sun Belt Team
As voted on by the league's eight head coaches and selected media members.
QB: Rusty Smith (FAU, Jr.)
RB: Reggie Arnold (ASU, Jr.)
RB: Tyrell Fenroy (ULL, Sr.)
WR: Cortez Gent (FAU, Jr.)
WR: Casey Fitzgerald (NT, Sr.)
TE: David Johnson (ASU, Sr.)
TE: Zeek Zacharie (ULM, Sr.)
OL: Matt Mandich (ASU, Sr.)
OL: Nick Paris (FAU, Sr.)
OL: Chris Fisher (ULL, Jr.)
OL: Kelvin Drake (NT, Jr.)
OL: Dion Small (Troy, Sr.)

DL: Alex Carrington (ASU, Jr.)
DL: Robert St. Clair (FAU, Sr.)
DL: Jervonte Jackson (FAU, Sr.)
DL: Kenny Mainor (Troy, Sr.)
LB: Ben Owens (ASU, Sr.)
LB: Frantz Joseph (FAU, Sr.)
LB: Boris Lee (Troy, Jr.)
DB: Tavious Polo (FAU, So.)
DB: Corey Small (FAU, Sr.)
DB: Greg James (ULM, Jr.)
DB: Alex Suber (MT, Sr.)
DB: Sherrod Martin (Troy, Sr.)
DB: Tavares Williams (Troy, Sr.)

Special Teams
P: Scott Love (ULM, Jr.)
PK: Drew Edmiston (ULL, Sr.)
RS: Desmond Gee (MT, Jr.)

Preseason Offensive Player of the Year
Rusty Smith (FAU, Jr., Quarterback)

Preseason Defensive Player of the Year
Frantz Joseph (FAU, Sr., Linebacker)

2008 Preseason Sun Belt Poll
As voted on by the league's eight head coaches. First place votes in parentheses.

1. Florida Atlantic (6) 62
2. Troy (1) 51
3. Louisiana-Monroe (1) 46
4. Arkansas State 39
5. Middle Tennessee 32

6. Louisiana-Lafayette 26
7. North Texas 19
8. Florida International 13

Follow the Blue Raiders on Twitter @MTAthletics for continued updates.