DeFatta named to Ray Guy Watch List

Junior joins 45 others for prestigious award

September 17, 2008 · Athletic Communications

Augusta, GA - The Greater Augusta Sports Council announced today the watch list for the 2008 Ray Guy Award, which identifies the nation's top collegiate punter, and Middle Tennessee's David DeFatta is on the list. DeFatta joins ULM's Scott Love, FAU's Keegan Peterson, and ASU's Brett Shrable as the only Sun Belt players to make the list.

DeFatta, a junior from nearby Franklin, Tenn., led the SBC last year with a Blue Raider record 28 punts downed inside the 20-yard line and is currently averaging 41.9 yards a punt. He has four punts of 50 or more yards and has placed at least one punt inside the opponent's 20-yard line in 15 straight games.

The watch list will be narrowed to ten semi-finalists in early-November. The national voting body will then vote for the top three finalists, and ultimately the winner. The top three finalists will be announced in late-November, and the winner of the Ray Guy Award, which is affiliated with the National College Football Awards Association, will be presented live on ESPN during the ESPNU-Home Depot College Football Awards Show on December 11, 2008.

2008 Ray Guy Award Watch List
Bryan Anger - California
Britt Barefoot - Southern Miss
Brent Bowden - Virginia Tech
Justin Brantly - Texas A & M
Terence Brown - North Carolina
Peter Caldwell - Utah State
T.J Conley - Idaho
Keenyn Crier - Arizona
Desi Cullen - Connecticut
Jeremy Davis - Arkansas
David Defatta - Middle Tennessee
Matthew DiLallo - Colorado
Andy Dittbenner - Northern Illinois
Ryan Donahue - Iowa
Derek Epperson - Baylor
Matt Fodge - Oklahoma State
Graham Gano - FSU
John Gold - Texas
Chas Henry - Florida
Kevin Huber - Cincinnati
Kevin Jones - Duke
Chris Keagle - LA Tech
Justin Kucek - Minnesota
Jonathan LaCour - Texas Tech
Rob Long - Syracuse
Scott Love - Louisiana-Monroe
Jimmy Maners - Clemson
Tim Masthay - Kentucky
Blake McAdams - Mississippi State
Pat McAfee - West Virginia
Zoltan Mesko - Michigan
Chris Miller - Ball State
Brian Mimbs - Georgia
Thomas Morstead - SMU
Aaron Perez - UCLA
Keegan Peterson - Florida Atlantic
Jake Richardson - Miami (Ohio)
Louie Sakoda - Utah
Brett Shrable - Arkansas State
Sam Swank - Wake Forest
Dan Titchener - Nebraska
A.J. Trapasso - Ohio State
Chase Turner - Houston
Swayze Waters - UAB
Jeff Wathne - Temple
Thomas Weber - Arizona State

Follow the Blue Raiders on Twitter @MTAthletics for continued updates.