Volleyball has three named All-Sun Belt

SBC tourney begins Thursday

November 19, 2008 · MT Athletic Communications
NEW ORLEANS, La. - Middle Tennessee had three players receive all-conference honors as announced by the Sun Belt Conference office on Wednesday.

Senior Ashley Asberry and junior Leslie Clark received first team honors while sophomore Izabela Kozon was named to the second team.

"I think all three of our players had stellar seasons, breaking numerous records and really all increasing their games from last year. We asked these three to step it up after Sasha's injury and they did. All three are most deserving of this honor," head coach Matt Peck said.

Asberry currently leads the nation in hitting percentage and blocks per set and moved into first on the career list for block assists this season. Asberry received Player of the Week and Defensive Player of the Week honors this season as well as being named CVU.com Top Performer. This is the second straight year Asberry and Clark have received first team honors as voted on by the 13 head coaches in the Sun Belt.

In the wins over Troy and South Alabama less than a week ago, Clark moved into first on the all-time career assists list with 4,087 and is just the second Blue Raider to ever reach 4,000 assists in a career. Currently, Clark is in the Top-15 in the country for assists for the second straight year in addition to leading the conference.

Kozon received the honor after being named Player of the Week earlier in the year as she helped guide the team in crucial wins. The Warsaw, Poland native currently leads the team in kills with 374 and posted a career high 22 against Duke. Kozon has also recorded nine double-doubles and four 20-kills matches this season.

Middle Tennessee will begin the 2008 Sun Belt Championships at 4 p.m. on Thursday, Nov. 20 at FIU Arena on the campus of tournament host Florida International. Results will be posted on www.goblueraiders.com as soon as they become available.

Live stats and web streaming of all tournament matches may also be found on the Tournament Central page at www.sunbeltsports.org.

ALL-SUN BELT CONFERENCE VOLLEYBALL TEAM FIRST TEAM Amila Barakovic, UALR Emmy Davidsmeyer, Denver Yarimar Rosa, FIU Ashley Asberry, Middle Tennessee Leslie Clark, Middle Tennessee Dobrilla Kovacevic, New Orleans Lindsey Loyd, New Orleans Megan Argabright, WKU SECOND TEAM Anita Bucur, UALR Cayla Fielder, Arkansas State Holly Benson, Denver Natalia Valentin, FIU Isadora Rangel, FIU Izabela Kozon, Middle Tennessee Brittany Bowen, WKU Julia Noe, WKU NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR - Isadora Rangel, FIU FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR - Cayla Fielder, Arkansas State DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Amy Hafner, UALR PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Yarimar Rosa, FIU COACH OF THE YEAR - Danielja Tomic, FIU

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.