Six Blue Raiders honored by Phil Steele

Five of the six are underclassmen

December 6, 2008 · Athletic Communications

MURFREESBORO, Tenn. - Phil Steele released his 2008 All-Sun Belt Conference team recently and six Middle Tennessee players earned recognition. Five of the six honorees are underclassmen.

Offensively, wide receivers Eldred King and Malcolm Beyah earned second and third team honors, respectively. King shared the team lead with 51 receptions while Beyah led the Blue Raiders with six touchdown receptions and was the recipient of the now famous "Hail Mary" against Florida Atlantic.

Also earning recognition on the offensive side of the ball were offensive linemen Jamal Lewis and Mark Fisher. Lewis made the second team while Fisher was placed on the third team. Both players started all 12 games in 2008.

Defensively, linebackers Ivon Hickmon and Danny Carmichael made Phil Steele's list. Hickmon, a candidate for league Defensive Player of the Year honors, had his best year as a Blue Raider with 82 tackles, a team-best 13.0 tackles for loss, two interceptions and two forced fumbles.

Carmichael, a junior, led the Blue Raiders with 89 tackles and was one of the more consistent performers on the team in 2008. The Woodstock, Ga., native also added 11.5 tackles for loss, three sacks, and an interception.

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.