Jenkins, Kellem named second team All-SBC

Craddock, Hickmon earn honorable mention honors

December 9, 2008 · Athletic Communications

MURFREESBORO, Tenn. - The Sun Belt Conference announced its all-conference teams for 2008 and Middle Tennessee had four players honored. Defensive tackle Trevor Jenkins and safety Jeremy Kellem were voted to the second team while quarterback Joe Craddock and linebacker Ivon Hickmon earned honorable mention honors.

Jenkins, who ended his career by starting in 37 straight games, had 26 tackles and 5.5 tackles for loss in 2008. A three-year starter, Jenkins earned all-conference recognition for the first time in his career.

Kellem, a sophomore from North Lauderdale, Fla., continued to show his knack of being around the football in 2008. Kellem was third on the team in tackles with 72 to go along with 3.5 tackles for loss, two interceptions, two fumble recoveries, three forced fumbles, and a blocked kick.

Making the honorable mention list were Craddock and Hickmon. Craddock set a school record by throwing for 200 or more yards 10 times and establishing a new senior mark with 2,677 passing yards. An ESPN Helmet Stick award winner following the win over Maryland, Craddock did a great job of protecting the football in 2008 as he tossed 15 touchdowns to only seven interceptions.

Hickmon, who was a candidate for league Defensive Player of the Year, had his best year as a Blue Raider. The Lake, Miss., product was second on the team with 82 tackles and led the team with 13.0 tackles for loss. Hickmon, who had double figure tackles against Kentucky, Louisville, and WKU, also had two interceptions and two forced fumbles in 2008.


Player of the Year
Tyrell Fenroy (ULL, Sr., RB #32)

Offensive Player of the Year
Michael Desormeaux (ULL, Sr., QB, #6)

Defensive Player of the Year
Alex Carrington (ASU, Jr., DE, #98)

Newcomer of the Year
Levi Brown (Troy, Jr., QB, #12)

Freshman of the Year
T.Y. Hilton (FIU, Fr., WR/KR/PR, #4)

Coach of the Year
Larry Blakeney (Troy)

First Team All-Conference Offense
Michael Desormeaux (ULL, Sr., QB, #6)
Reggie Arnold (ASU, Jr., RB, #2)
Tyrell Fenroy (ULL, Sr., RB #32)
Casey Fitzgerald (North Texas, Sr., WR, #87)
Jerrel Jernigan (Troy, So., WR, #3)
Zeek Zacharie (ULM, Sr., TE, #15)
Matt Mandich (ASU, Sr., OL, #63)
Brad Bustle (ULL, Jr., OL #75)
Chris Fisher (ULL, Jr., OL #79)
Chris Jamison (Troy, Sr., OT, #65)
Dion Small (Troy, Sr., OT, #74)

First Team All-Conference Defense
Alex Carrington (ASU, Jr., DE, #98)
Jervonte Jackson (FAU, R-Sr, DL, #92)
Brandon Lang (Troy, Jr., DE, #91)
Cameron Sheffield (Troy, Jr., DE, #90)
Frantz Joseph (FAU, R-Sr., LB, #56)
Cardia Jackson (ULM, Jr., LB, #51)
Boris Lee (Troy, Jr., LB, #2)
Corey Small (FAU, R-Sr., DB, #26)
Anthony Gaitor (FIU, SO., DB, #7)
Terence Moore (Troy, Sr., DB, #20)
Sherrod Martin (Troy, Sr., DB, #6)

First Team All-Conference Specialists
Josh Arauco (ASU, Jr., K, #89)
Truman Spencer (North Texas, Sr., P, #25)
T.Y. Hilton (FIU, Fr., Return Specialist, #4)
T.Y. Hilton (FIU, Fr., All Purpose, #4)

Second Team All-Conference Offense
Corey Leonard (ASU, Jr., QB, #1)
Charles Pierre (FAU, R-Sr., RB, #20)
DuJuan Harris (Troy, So., RB, #32)
T.Y. Hilton (FIU, FR., WR, #4)
Jason Chery (ULL, Sr., WR, #5)
David Johnson (ASU, Sr., TE, #85)
Jamari Grant (FAU, R-Jr, TE, #87)
Mark Clemons (ASU, Sr., OL, #64)
Nick Paris (FAU, R-Sr, C, #68)
John Rizzo (FAU, Sr, RT, #71)
Brad Serini (FIU, SO., C, #76)
Larry Shappley (ULM, Sr., OL, #76)

Second Team All-Conference Defense
Quentin Newman (FIU, SR., DE, #54)
Trevor Jenkins (MT, Sr., DT, #97)
Aaron Morgan (ULM, Jr., DE, #9)
Dion Gales (Troy, Sr., DT, #98)
Ben Owens (ASU, Sr., LB, #40)
Bear Woods (Troy, Jr., LB, #48)
Tobe Nwigwe (North Texas, Jr., LB, #44)
Derik Keyes (ULL, Sr., DB, #20)
Josh Thompson (ULM, Jr., DB, #28)
Jeremy Kellem (MT, So., S, #20)
Tavares Williams (Troy, Sr., DB, #15)

Second Team All-Conference Specialists
Sam Glusman (Troy, Jr., PK, #38)
Carlos Munera (FIU, JR., P, #34)
Kevin Jones (ASU, Sr., Return Specialist, #6)
Jason Chery (ULL, Sr., All Purpose #5)

Honorable Mention Selections: J.T. Jordan (ASU, Jr., TE, #87), Dominique Williams (ASU, Sr., CB, #8), Scott Bryant (FIU, JR., LB, #44), Paul McCall (FIU, JR., QB, #12), Jonathan Decoster (ULL, So., OL #73), Antwyne Zanders (ULL, Sr., LB #41), Kinsmon Lancaster (ULM, Sr., QB, #7), Anthony McCall (ULM, Fr., WR, #83), Joe Craddock (MT, Sr., QB, #12), Ivon Hickmon (MT, Sr., LB, #27), Cam Montgomery (North Texas, Jr., RB, #26), Craig Robertson (North Texas, So., LB, #42), Kennard Burton (Troy, Sr., WR, #9), Steve McLendon (Troy, Sr., DT, #92)

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.