Asberry, Clark named AVCA All-Region

Second honor for Asberry

December 10, 2008 · MT Athletic Communications
MURFREESBORO, Tenn. - Senior Ashley Asberry and junior Leslie Clark have been named AVCA All-South Region as announced by the association on Wednesday.

This is Asberry's second time on the All-Region list while Clark receives her first honor by the coaches association.

Just three other Sun Belt student-athletes were honored by the AVCA on the All-Region team. Megan Argabright and Julia Noe were awarded the honor from Western Kentucky while Yarimar Rosa received the honor from Florida International.

This is the fourth honor for Argabright while Rosa has received the award three times.

Asberry and Clark can be considered for All-America honors by the AVCA since they were named to the All-Region team. The Blue Raiders ended the 2008 season with a 27-8 record and a 14-3 record in Sun Belt conference action.

South Region Team

Ashley Adams***, Samford, RS/Opp., Sr. Megan Argabright****, Western Kentucky, MB, Sr. Ashley Asberry**, Middle Tennessee, MB, Sr. Leslie Clark, Middle Tennessee, S, Jr. Brittnee Cooper, Louisiana State University, MB, Jr. Elyse Cusack**, University of Florida, DS/Lib., Jr. Nikki Fowler, University of Tennessee, OH, So. Elena Martinez**, Louisiana State University, DS/Lib., Sr. Kelly Murphy, University of Florida, S/RS, Fr. Julia Noe, Western Kentucky, S, Sr. Queen Nzenwa**, University of Kentucky, MB, Sr. Yarimar Rosa***, Florida International, OH, Jr. Sarah Rumely, University of Kentucky, S, Jr. Brooks Webster, University of Alabama, OH, Jr. Region Freshman of the Year: Kelly Murphy, Florida, S/RS

Honorable Mention: Bridget Denson-Dorman (South Carolina, S, Jr.); Cole Dawley (Charleston, S, So.); Chloe Goldman (Tennessee, DS/Lib. Jr.); Ivana Kujundzic (South Carolina, OH, Jr.); Lara Newberry (UT Chattanooga, DS/Lib., Sr.); Becky Pavan (Kentucky, MB, Fr.); Lauren Rapp (Kentucky, RS/Opp., So.); Belita Salters (South Carolina, MB, Sr.)

Follow the Blue Raiders on Twitter @MTAthletics for continued updates.