Morgan wins long jump at SBC Championships

Men lead, women in third after first day

February 28, 2009 · Christian Lemon

JONESBORO, Ark. - Carl Morgan won the long jump at the Sun Belt Championships for the second year in a row with a leap of 24-10.00 earning a NCAA provisional mark with teammate Stanley Gbagbeke placing second with a 24-06.50 jump for a personal best as they helped lead the men's team to a first place lead after day one of competition with 41 team points.

The women scored 14 quick points in the shot put as juniors Brittany Cox and MeLyn Thompson finished second and third respectively. Cox threw an indoor career best of 48-10.25 and Thompson tied a lifetime best with a 47-11.25 toss. Cox and Thompson have guided the women to third place after the first day of competition with 37 team points.

Sarah Nambawa and Kortney Thurman combined for 12 points in the long jump. Nambawa placed second with a jump of 19-06.75 while Thurman finished fifth with a 18-10.00 leap.

Zamzam Sangau took third and Ashley Comstock placed fifth in the women's 3000 meters. Sangau clocked a 9:51.69 and Comstock came in 10:08.09.

Men's distance runners Festus Chemaoi, William Songock, Issac Biwott earned 17 points for in the 3000 meters. Chemaoi ran a lifetime best of 8:22.00 finishing second. Songock came in third in 8:36.74 and Biwott placed sixth in 8:53.80.

Chemaoi also won the third flight of the men's 800 meters with a time of 1:56.02. He will compete in the 800 meter finals tomorrow.

The men's distance medley relay team took third in 10:18.81 after Philip Benavides was cleated and fell.

In sprints, both the men's and women's teams will have two entries in tomorrow's 55 meters finals. Greg Franklin and Curtis King qualified with times of 6.30 and 6.50 respectively. Nyeisha Wright's 7.18 and Kiara Henry's 7.19 earned spots in tomorrow's final with Henry tying a personal best. Franklin, King and Samuel Adade all qualified for tomorrow's men's 200 meter finals. Wright qualified for the women's 200 meters final with teammate TraMayne Gillyard. Gillyard qualified for the women's 400 meter final.

Hurdlers DeRay Sloss and Roscoe with both qualified for the men's 55 meter hurdle finals tomorrow. Payne clocked the fastest preliminary time with a 7.49 and Sloss finished in 7.58.

Head coach Dean Hayes said, "The men did well and will have a good shot to fight it out with Western tomorrow. The women still have a shot, but are going to need some very good performances."

Live coverage for the final day of competition will be available on deltatiming.com and full event results will be available on tomorrow evening on goblueraiders.com.

1. Middle Tennessee - 41
2. Arkansas State - 36
3. Western Kentucky - 31
4. Louisiana-Lafayette - 25
5. Louisiana Monroe - 23
6. South Alabama - 20
7. UALR - 12
8. North Texas - 6
9. FIU - 1

1. Arkansas State - 41.5
2. Western Kentucky -39
3. Middle Tennessee - 37
4. Louisiana-Monroe -26.5
5. North Texas - 15
6. Troy - 12.5
7. Florida Atlantic - 8
8. South Alabama - 6.5
9. FIU - 5
10. UALR - 4

Follow the Blue Raiders on Twitter @MTAthletics for continued updates.