Track teams travel to Memphis Tiger Invitational

Blue Raiders continue to prepare for SBC Championships

April 17, 2009 · Christian Lemon

MURFREESBORO, Tenn. - The Middle Tennessee track and field teams will travel to Memphis, Tenn. this weekend to compete in the Memphis Tiger Invitational.

The meet will begin Friday evening with the men's and women's hammer throw and conclude late Saturday afternoon with the 4x100m relays. The format for the Tiger Invitational focuses mostly on individual sprint races as well as a full slate of field events.

This season the Blue Raiders have earned have 10 NCAA Midwest Regional Qualifying marks to this point. Junior Brittany Cox has earned four qualifiers, three in the shot put with a Middle Tennessee record of 52-1.75 at the Tiger Track Classic in Auburn, Ala., two weeks ago.

Sarah Nambawa, Zamzam Sangau and Kortney Thurman have also earned NCAA Midwest Qualifiers this season for the Blue Raiders. Nambawa's two qualifiers came in the triple jump at the Tiger Track Classic and Sea Rays Relays with leaps of 43-7.25 and 42-0.00, respectively. Sangau earned qualifying times in the 800 and 1500 at the Tiger Track Classic, both were Middle Tennessee records. Thurman qualified in the long jump at the Tiger Track Classic with a jump of 19-9.50.

Distance runner Festus Chemaoi is the only male athlete to earn an NCAA qualifier this season. Chemaoi's qualifier came in the 1500 meters with a time of 3:46.28.

With the Sun Belt Championships less than a month away, the teams need to continue to get better in order to win another Sun Belt Championship for head coach Dean Hayes.

Meet results for the Tiger Track Classic will be available Saturday evening on gotigersgo.com and goblueraiders.com

Competing Teams
Middle Tennessee (M&W)
Memphis (M&W)
Eastern Illinois (M&W)
Western Illinois (M&W)
Rhodes College (M&W)
Lindenwood University (M&W)
SIU-Edwardsville (M&W)
Harding University (M&W)
Hendrix (M&W)
Lipscomb (M&W)
Rust College (M&W)
Christian Brother University (M)
Belmont University (W)
Murray State University (W)
Jacksonville State University (W)

Follow the Blue Raiders on Twitter @MTAthletics for continued updates.