Brentz named Golden Spikes Semifinalist

Sophomore standout one of 30 semifinalist for national award

May 26, 2009 · MT Athletic Communications
DURHAM, N.C. - Sophomore Bryce Brentz has been named a semifinalist for the 2009 Golden Spikes Award as announced by USA Baseball on Tuesday.

Brentz is one of 30 semifinalists for the 2009 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award (GSA). This year will mark the 32nd consecutive year that the award has been presented to the nation's premier amateur baseball player.

Brentz is currently leading the Blue Raiders with a .482 batting average as he has 106 hits, 19 doubles, two triples, 28 home runs and 72 RBI. On the mound, he has an ERA of 4.78 with a 5-3 record in 14 appearances with 57 strikeouts.

Today also marks the second year in a row that GoldenSpikesAward.com - powered by MLB Advanced Media (MLBAM), the interactive media and Internet company of Major League Baseball - will be the online home for the award. The Web site features content devoted exclusively to the GSA, including news, voting history, past-winner photo galleries, and photographs and video highlights for the 2009 semifinalists. Fans can follow online at GoldenSpikesAward.com as the list of 30 players is narrowed to five finalists on Tuesday, June 2, en route to the announcement of this year's winner on Tuesday, July 14.

The 2009 GSA will be awarded live at MLB's All-Star FanFest in St. Louis as part of a production by Major League Baseball and MLBAM. Online footage of the event will be found shortly thereafter, exclusively at GoldenSpikesAward.com and MLB.com.

Headlining this year's semifinalists are Dustin Ackley (North Carolina), Chris Dominguez (Louisville), Stephen Strasburg (San Diego State), and Alex White (North Carolina), all of whom were also 2008 GSA semifinalists.

In 2007, USA Baseball instituted a new selection and balloting procedure for the most prestigious award in amateur baseball, and it will follow the same model again in 2009. After accepting nominations from sports information directors across the country, a committee voted to determine the 30 semifinalists. The names of the 30 semifinalists will now be forwarded to a voting body of 125 who will select the five finalists and the eventual 2009 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award winner.

"USA Baseball is proud to recognize the 30 semifinalists and their respective baseball programs for the 2009 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award," said Paul Seiler, USA Baseball Executive Director/CEO. "With 25 schools and 14 conferences represented, it is clear that the level of competition within college baseball and for the Golden Spikes Award is as high as ever."

A list of the 30 semifinalists is below.
Name School Year Position Conference
1 Dustin Ackley North Carolina Junior 1B ACC
2 Eric Arnett Indiana Junior RHP BIG TEN
3 Buddy Baumann Missouri State Junior LHP MISSOURI VALLEY
4 Kyle Bellamy Miami Junior RHP ACC
5 Daniel Bibona UC Irvine Junior LHP BIG WEST
6 Bryce Brentz Middle Tennessee State Sophomore OF/RHP SUN BELT
7 Louis Coleman LSU Senior RHP SEC
8 Chris Dominguez Louisville Junior 3B BIG EAST
9 Josh Fellhauer Cal State Fullerton Junior OF BIG WEST
10 Kyle Gibson Missouri Junior RHP BIG XII
11 Jason Kipnis Arizona State Junior OF PAC 10
12 Marc Krauss Ohio Junior IF/OF MID-AMERICAN
13 Mike Leake Arizona State Junior RHP PAC 10
14 Justin Marks Louisville Junior LHP BIG EAST
15 Bryan Marquez New Mexico State Senior 2B WAC
16 Kent Matthes Alabama Senior OF SEC
17 Deck McGuire Georgia Tech Sophomore RHP ACC
18 Tommy Mendonca Fresno State Junior 3B WAC
19 A.J. Morris Kansas State Junior RHP BIG XII
20 Josh Phegley Indiana Junior C BIG TEN
21 Rich Poythress Georgia Junior 1B SEC
22 Brooks Raley Texas A&M Sophomore LHP/OF BIG XII
23 Addison Reed San Diego State Sophomore RHP MOUNTAIN WEST
24 Anthony Rendon Rice Freshman 3B CONFERENCE USA
25 Tony Sanchez Boston College Junior C ACC
26 Angelo Songco Loyola Marymount Junior OF WEST COAST
27 Stephen Strasburg San Diego State Junior RHP MOUNTAIN WEST
28 Alex White North Carolina Junior RHP ACC
29 Alex Wimmers Ohio State Sophomore RHP BIG TEN
30 J.T. Wise Oklahoma Senior C/INF BIG XII

Follow the Blue Raiders on Twitter @MTAthletics for continued updates.