Kellem named all-conference by coaches and media

Safety voted to first team

July 20, 2009 · Athletic Communications

NEW ORLEANS - Middle Tennessee safety Jeremy Kellem was honored today as preseason first team All-Sun Belt as announced by the league office during its annual Football Media Days. Kellem was voted to the first team by the leagues nine head coaches and selected media members.

As a team, the Blue Raiders were picked to finish fourth in the league as voted by the Sun Belt's nine head coaches. Troy was selected to represent the league in the New Orleans Bowl on Dec. 20, while Arkansas State was picked to finish second and FAU third.

Kellem, from North Lauderdale, Fla., was a second team All-SBC selection in 2008. The junior started all 12 games a year ago and ranked third on the team with 72 tackles to go along with 3.5 tackles for loss and a sack. Known for having a knack of being around the football, Kellem also added two interceptions, two fumble recoveries, three forced fumbles, and a blocked kick.

The Blue Raiders report to camp on August 9 to begin preparing for the season opener against Clemson on September 5. Kickoff is set for 5 PM CST.

Preseason All-Sun Belt Team
As voted on by the league's nine head coaches and selected media members.
Corey Leonard (Arkansas State, QB, Sr.)
Rusty Smith (Florida Atlantic, Sr, QB)
Reggie Arnold (Arkansas State, RB, Sr.)
DuJuan Harris (Troy, Jr., RB)
T.Y. Hilton (FIU, WR, So.)
Jerrel Jernigan (Troy, Jr., WR)
Jamari Grant (Florida Atlantic, Sr, TE)
Drew Hilton (Arkansas State, OL, Jr.)
Brad Serini (FIU, OL, Jr.)
Brad Bustle (Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr., OL)
Chris Fisher (Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr., OL)
Danny Franks (Troy, Sr., C)

Alex Carrington (Arkansas State, DL, Sr.)
Aaron Morgan (ULM, DL, Sr.)
Brandon Lang (Troy, DL, Sr.)
Cameron Sheffield (Troy, DL, Sr.)
Cardia Jackson (ULM, LB, Sr.)
Boris Lee (Troy, LB Sr.)
Bear Woods (Troy, LB Sr.)
Anthony Gaitor (FIU, DB, Jr.)
Jeremy Kellem (Middle Tennessee, DB, Sr.)
Greg James (ULM, DB, Sr.)
Jorrick Calvin (Troy, DB Sr.)

Special Teams
Scott Love (ULM, P, Sr.)
Josh Arauco (Arkansas State, K, Sr.)
T.Y. Hilton (FIU, WR, So.)

Co - Preseason Offensive Players of the Year
Rusty Smith (Florida Atlantic, Sr, QB)
Corey Leonard (Arkansas State, QB, Sr.)

Preseason Defensive Player of the Year
Alex Carrington (Arkansas State, Sr., DE)

2009 Preseason Sun Belt Poll
As voted on by the league's nine head coaches. First place votes in parentheses.

Troy-72 (5)
Arkansas State-69
Florida Atlantic-61 (1)
Middle Tennessee-52
FIU-43 (1)
Louisiana-Lafayette-39 (1)
ULM-34 (1)
North Texas-18

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.