Clark listed on Preseason State Farm Wade Trophy Watch List

Among an elite group of 25 national players

July 30, 2009 · Athletic Communications

ATLANTA - Middle Tennessee rising senior Alysha Clark has been selected as one of 25 players nationally on the 2009-10 Preseason State Farm Wade Trophy Watch List it was unveiled by the Women's Basketball Coaches Association Thursday on behalf of the Wade Coalition.

"I have been working hard this summer to expand my game and bring more to my team," Clark said. "This is great for Middle Tennessee."

Clark, a Mt. Juliet, Tenn., native, garnered three separate All-American accolades last season as she helped lead the Blue Raiders to a 28-6 record and appearance in the NCAA Tournament. In addition, Clark was tabbed the Sun Belt Player of the Year, its Newcomer of the Year and as its Tournament MVP while leading the nation in scoring with 27.5 points per game.

"I have thought all along she should be included on there from the beginning after her great year last season," Middle Tennessee head coach Rick Insell said. "She has proven she is one of the best players in the country on multiple occasions. She has had a tremendous summer, highlighted by her trip to Colorado for the World University Games Team tryouts. If anyone is deserving of this award, it would be her."

Clark spent four days in mid-May as one of 29 collegiate players competing for a spot on the World University Games squad. While she did not make the team, the experience gave her an opportunity to play against some of her All-American peers and other top players from around the country.

She will be one of six seniors, one of five starters and one of 11 letterwinners returning this season for Insell's fifth year as the Blue Raider head coach.

The 25-member list is made up of top NCAA Division I student-athletes who best embody the spirit of Lily Margaret Wade according to the following criteria: game and season statistics, leadership, character, effect on their team and overall playing ability.

The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 33rd year and named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade, debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball. This highly prestigious award, regarded as the "Heisman of Women's Basketball," is organized by the WBCA, in conjunction with the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS).

The 2010 State Farm Wade Trophy winner will be announced at the WBCA National Convention, held in conjunction with the NCAA Women's Final Four, in San Antonio, Texas, April 2-6.

2009-10 Preseason Wade Trophy Watch List:
Alysha Clark, Sr., F, Middle Tennessee
Jayne Appel, Sr., F/C, Stanford
Jessica Breland, Sr., F, North Carolina
Tina Charles, Sr., C/F, Connecticut
Allyssa DeHaan, Sr., C, Michigan State
Alexis Gray-Lawson, Sr., G, California
Tiffany Hayes, So., G, Connecticut
Allison Hightower, Sr., G, LSU
Ashley Houts, Sr., G, Georgia
Jantel Lavender, Jr., C, Ohio State
Danielle McCray, Sr., G/F, Kansas
Jacinta Monroe, Sr., F/C, Florida State
Maya Moore, Jr., F., Connecticut
Jene Morris, Sr., G, San Diego State
Deirdre Naughton, Sr., G, DePaul
Kayla Pederson, Jr., F, Stanford
Ta'Shia Phillips, Jr., C, Xavier
Jeanette Pohlen, Jr., G, Stanford
Samantha Prahalis, So., G, Ohio State
Andrea Riley, Jr., G, Oklahoma State
Danielle Robinson, Jr., G, Oklahoma
Jenna Smith, Sr., C, Illinois
Carolyn Swords, Jr., C, Boston College
Courtney Vandersloot, Jr., G, Gonzaga
Monica Wright, Sr., G, Virginia

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.