DeFatta announced as candidate for Ray Guy award

One of 42 players honored

October 30, 2009 · Athletic Communications

Augusta, GA - The Augusta Sports Council announced today the candidates for the 2009 Ray Guy Award, which identifies the nation's top collegiate punter, and Middle Tennessee's David DeFatta is among the 42 players who made the list. The 42 will be narrowed to ten semi-finalists that will be named on November 13.

DeFatta, a senior, owns a 38.1 yard average this season but has placed 15 of his 54 punts inside the opponent's 20-yard line and has five punts of 50 or more yards. For his career, DeFatta has placed 56 of his 189 punts inside the opponent's 20 which equals out to 30 percent.

Following the semi-finalists announcement, a national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, coaches, media representatives, and previous Ray Guy Award winners will vote for the top three finalists, and ultimately the winner. The winner will be announced live during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show airing on ESPN December 10.

2009 Ray Guy Award Candidates List
Delbert Alvarado Senior South Florida
Bryan Anger Sophomore California
Ben Armer Sophomore Western Michigan
Jeremy Boone Senior Penn State
Brent Bowden Senior VA Tech
Mike Brandtner Senior Iowa State
Drew Butler Sophomore Georgia
Peter Caldwell Junior Utah State
Desi Cullen Senior Connecticut
David DeFatta Senior Middle Tennessee
Kyle Delahooke Junior Navy
Matt DiLallo Senior Colorado
Matt Dodge Senior East Carolina
Ryan Donahue Junior Iowa
Clinton Durst Senior Auburn
Derek Epperson Junior Baylor
P.J. Fitzgerald Senior Alabama
Reid Forrest Junior Washington State
Will Goggans Sophomore Troy
Mickey Groody Sophomore Florida Atlantic
Trevor Hankins Junior Arizona State
Jake Harry Missouri Senior
Johnny Hekker Sophomore Oregon State
Alex Henery Junior Nebraska
Chas Henry Junior Florida
Kevin Jones Junior Duke
Scott Kozlowski Senior West Virginia
Spencer Lanning Junior South Carolina
Jeff Locke Freshman UCLA
Rob Long Junior Syracuse
Kyle Martens Sophomore Rice
Zoltan Mesko Senior Michigan
Brad Nortman Sophomore Wisconsin
Matt Reagan Senior Memphis
Alonso Rojas Junior Kansas
Quinn Sharp Freshman Oklahoma State
Brian Stahovich Sophomore San Diego State
Michael Such Junior Tulsa
Chris Summers Senior Purdue
Matt Szymanski Junior SMU
Ross Thevenot Senior Tulane
Kyle Watson Senior UNLV

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.