14 Blue Raiders on Phil Steele's all-conference team

McCoy, Robinson, Gendreau on first team

December 8, 2009 · Athletic Communications

MURFREESBORO, Tenn. - Fourteen members of Middle Tennessee's 9-3, bowl-bound football team have been named to Phil Steele's All-Sun Belt Conference team for 2009.

Seniors Chris McCoy (DE) and Cam Robinson (LB), and sophomore place kicker Alan Gendreau were named to the 1st team. McCoy had 59 tackles, including 20 tackles for loss and seven sacks, three pass breakups, and a blocked kick. He recovered two fumbles, and returned one of them 68 yards for a score against Clemson.

Robinson led the team in tackles with 104, 13 for loss and five sacks. He also had two pass breakups and recovered a fumble. Gendreau led the conference in kick scoring with 98 points, 27 more than his closest competitor, and was second in overall scoring. He hit 44 of 45 extra points and 18 of 21 field goals, including a school record 12 in a row.

Half a dozen Blue Raiders made Steele's 2nd team, led by seniors Danny Carmichael (LB) and Marcus Udell (DB). Joining them were juniors Kevin Brown (DB), Dwight Dasher (QB), Mark Fisher (OL), and Jamari Lattimore (DE).

Carmichael was among the nation's leaders in forced fumbles with six, and was second on the team in tackles with 87, including 12.5 tackles for loss and 6.5 sacks.

Fisher was a stalwart in the offensive line that paved the way for an offense that was ranked 2nd in the Sun Belt in scoring (31.2 ppg) and 3rd in total offense, passing offense and rushing offense.

Middle Tennessee led the Sun Belt in interceptions with 17, and Udell accounted for seven of them to lead the league and rank among the national leaders. He also had 21 tackles and a blocked kick.

Brown had four interceptions, 55 tackles and six pass breakups, and was known for his bone-rattling hits.

Dasher was tremendous in only his first full year as the starting QB. He was second in the Sun Belt in both total offense (3,580 yards) and passing (2627 yards and 21 TDs), and was fourth in rushing (953 yards and 11 TDs). He was the Sun Belt Offensive Player of the Week three times this season.

Lattimore had a career year at DE, with 46 tackles, 9.5 TFLs, and 5.5 sacks. He also recovered three fumbles and returned an interception 29 yards for a touchdown.

Named to the 3rd team were seniors Desmond Gee (KR), Patrick Honeycutt (PR), Brandon Perry (DL) and Mark Thompson (OL), and sophomore D.D. Kyles (RB).

Gee returned 38 kickoffs for a 22.2 average, and led the team in all-purpose yards with 1,033 yards (86.1 per game). He also completed two of three passes for 56 yards

Honeycutt had 19 punt returns for 108 yards, and was also the teams leading receiver with 36 catches for 411 yards and four touchdowns.

Perry was a stalwart in the middle of the defensive line with 20 tackles, five for losses, two sacks, a forced fumble and a blocked kick.

Thompson at center called offensive line signals, and holds the Middle Tennessee record of 49 games started in his career. He has started games since he was a freshman.

Kyles replaced injured Phillip Tanner at running back mid-way in the season, and rang up 822 yards rushing in 11 games. He has three rushing touchdowns and one receiving. He caught 14 passes for 182 yards.

All of these players will see action in the New Orleans Bowl on Sunday, December 20th, as the Blue Raiders battle Southern Miss.

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.