Blue Raiders hold annual awards banquet

Carmichael, Gee, Honeycutt, Perry, and Suber honored as team captains

January 16, 2010 · Athletic Communications

MURFREESBORO, Tenn. - The Middle Tennessee football program held its annual end of the year team banquet on Saturday evening to honor its top performers and celebrate the 2009 accomplishments. The event was held at the Embassy Suites Hotel and included the debut of the 2009 highlight video.

Among the highlights celebrated was a New Orleans Bowl championship, a 10-win season, a win over Maryland, a perfect November record, a 5-1 home season, and a new single-season Floyd Stadium attendance record.

The evening got underway with the introduction of the 2009 senior class then the first hardware given out were the academic awards. Todd Wyant from the Academic Enhancement Center presented the academic awards for 2009 which is given to the student-athlete who has achieved the highest level of academic success from each class. The senior winner was Cam Robinson, while Mark Fisher earned the junior award. Brent Burnette was given the sophomore honor and Tavarres Jefferson brought home the freshman award.

The next awards presented were from Strength and Conditioning Coach Russell Patterson. The Lifter of the Year, which shows the most overall gains from the beginning of the calendar year to date, went to senior linebacker Danny Carmichael. The Dedication award, which is voted on by the players and given to someone who exhibited the best work ethic both in-season and off-season, was presented to Patrick Honeycutt (offense) for the second year in a row and Chris McCoy (defense). The Power Hour award was given to freshman David Jones. The Power Hour is a competition held in the fall between freshmen and redshirt freshmen. The players compete in numerous strong man lifting events and the winner is characterized by strength, endurance, and speed.

Individually, 36 players received a plaque for earning a "winning performance" from the coaching staff during the 2009 season, which was up from 34 in 2008 (25 of the 36 return in 2010). A "winning performance" is achieved by grading out as a winner for at least nine games based on coaches evaluations. The players earning a "winning performance" on offense were: Dwight Dasher, Marquise Branton, Benny Cunningham, D.D. Kyles, Garrett Andrews, Shane Blissard, Wes Caldwell, Gene Delle Donne, Desmond Gee, Patrick Honeycutt, Chris McClover, Mark Fisher, Brandon McLeroy, Alex Stuart, Mark Thompson, and Mike Williams. On defense the winners were: Danny Carmichael, Darin Davis, Antwan Davis, Cam Robinson, Norman Washington, Rod Issac, Alex Suber, Kevin Brown, Jeremy Kellem, Derrick Crumpton, SaCoby Carter, Jamari Lattimore, Chris McCoy, Emmanuel Perez, Brandon Perry, Dwight Smith, and Gary Tucker, while Adam Wade, David DeFatta, and Alan Gendreau picked up honors on special teams.

The most prestigious award, naming the permanent captains, was the last presented. The captains awards, voted on by the players, is the highest honor for a Middle Tennessee football player. The recipients for 2009 were linebacker Danny Carmichael, wide receiver Desmond Gee, wide receiver Patrick Honeycutt, defensive lineman Brandon Perry, and defensive back Alex Suber.

Cam Robinson closed out the night with a few comments on the season as a representative of the senior class.

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.