Former greats Gunn, Holmes named to 30-year anniversary Sun Belt teams

October 25, 2005 · MT Media Relations
MURFREESBORO, Tenn. - Former Middle Tennessee basketball standouts Tommy Gunn and Patrice Holmes were named to the Sun Belt Conference's All-Time Men's and Women's Basketball Teams, released at the league's Media Days at the Kennon Hall of Fame Building on the Middle Tennessee campus Tuesday.

The 30-member All-Time Sun Belt Men's and Women's teams were announced in conjunction with the conference's 30-year anniversary celebration Alabama-Birmingham's Gene Bartow was chosen as the All-Time Men's Coach, while Louisiana Tech's Leon Barmore was selected as the all-time women's coach. North Carolina-Charlotte's Cedric Maxwell was selected as the All-Time men's player, while Old Dominion's Anne Donovan was named All-Time women's player. A 26-member media panel made the selections.

Gunn, who is playing for the Nashville Rhythm, capped a stellar Blue Raider career following the 2003-04 season, leaving Middle Tennessee as its No. 3 all-time leading scorer with 1,528 points. The incomparable Gunn (2001-04) helped lead the Blue Raiders to their first appearance in the Sun Belt Conference championship game as a junior in 2003 and he was on teams that enjoyed first-round tournament wins in each of his last three seasons.

The Syracuse, N.Y., native also finished his Middle Tennessee career No. 2 all-time in 3-point field goals made (185), No. 2 in steals (156), and No. 4 in blocked shots (54). He was a four-year starter for Middle Tennessee and two-time, first-team All-Sun Belt performer.

"We were very fortunate to have Tommy Gunn in our program when we came here," said Middle Tennessee men's basketball coach Kermit Davis, who was hired to lead the Blue Raiders in 2002 and coached Gunn during his junior and senior seasons. "The previous staff did a good job recruiting him to the school, and I hope we had a hand in developing his talent. Tommy Gunn was a pleasure to coach. He practiced every day and he would play through injuries. He was a fantastic player and will go down as one of the top four or five players to ever play at Middle Tennessee."

Only players who have competed at Middle Tennessee since it became a Sun Belt member in 2000 were eligible for consideration. Gunn is Middle Tennessee's only two-time, first-team All-Sun Belt selection.

"I am a little shocked that I made a team of all-time greats because that covers a lot of players during a 30-year period," Gunn said. "I am thankful to those who voted for me, and I appreciate having the opportunity to play for Middle Tennessee and for two great coaches in Randy Wiel and Kermit Davis. Each had an impact on me in different ways and I have them to thank for my development and helping me realize my potential.

"I had four great years at Middle Tennessee and a lot of great memories. More than anything, I'm proud of what we were able to do during my last two seasons. We made it to a championship game and we had two winning seasons that I hope helped set the foundation for the great program coach Davis is developing at Middle Tennessee. They are going to do great things there."

One of the most clutch players in Middle Tennessee women's basketball history, Holmes enjoyed a stellar career as a Blue Raider and in the Sun Belt Conference.

Along with earning league Freshman of the Year honors in 2002 and Sun Belt Conference Defensive Player of the Year honors in 2003 and 2005, Holmes was a three-time first team All-SBC selection. The first player in league history to win the SBC Tournaments Most Outstanding Player award three times, Holmes owns the SBC Tournament record for points, most field goals made, and most field goals attempted, while equaling the mark for most three-pointers made. Holmes also ranks sixth all-time in the SBC in scoring, second in steals, 14th in assists and 11th in three-pointers made.

The electrifying Holmes led Middle Tennessee to wins in the NCAA Women's Basketball Tournament in 2004 and 2005.

"This is quite an honor and I'm appreciative to be named to this prestigious team," Holmes said. "I was fortunate enough to play on some good teams and with some good players at Middle Tennessee so I consider this something in which we all can share."

All-Time Sun Belt Conference Men's Basketball Team

Derek Fisher (Arkansas-Little Rock, 1992-96)
Muntrelle Dobbins (Arkansas-Little Rock, 1993-97)
Chico Fletcher (Arkansas State, 1997-2000)
Oliver Robinson (Alabama-Birmingham, 1978-82)
Steve Mitchell (Alabama-Birmingham, 1982-86)
Jerome Mincey (Alabama-Birmingham, 1982-86)
James Ray (Jacksonville, 1977-80)
Otis Smith (Jacksonville, 1983-86)
Gerrod Henderson (La. Tech, 1999-02)
Lonnie Cooper (La. Tech, 1996-99)
PJ Brown (La. Tech, 1989-92)
Tommy Gunn (Middle Tennessee, 2001-04)
Eric Channing (New Mexico State, 2000-02)
Wayne Cooper (New Orleans, 1974-1978)
Ervin Johnson (New Orleans, 1989-93)
Hector Romero (New Orleans, 2001-03)
Cedric Maxwell (North Carolina-Charlotte, 1974-77)
Chad Kinch (North Carolina-Charlotte, 1977-80)
Byron Dinkins (North Carolina-Charlotte, 1986-89)
Kenny Gattison (Old Dominion, 1983-86)
Chris Gatling (Old Dominion, 1988-91)
Terry Catledge (South Alabama, 1983-85)
Jeff Hodge (South Alabama, 1986-89)
Ed Rains (South Alabama, 1978-81)
Rory White (South Alabama, 1978-82)
Tellis Frank (Western Kentucky, 1984-87)
Kannard Johnson (Western Kentucky, 1984-87)
Chris Marcus (Western Kentucky, 2000-02)
Darnell Mee (Western Kentucky, 1991-1993)
Chris Robinson (Western Kentucky, 1993-96)
All-Time Sun Belt Conference Women's Basketball Team
Jacque Nero (Alabama-Birmingham, 1990-92)
Sonja Tate (Arkansas State, 1990-93)
Shyla Tucker (Arkansas State, 1991-94)
Michaela Pavlickova (Denver, 1998-01)
Dalma Iványi (Florida International, 1995-99)
Gergana Slavtcheva (Florida International, 1988-2002)
Anna Petrakova (Louisiana-Lafayette, 2002-05)
Vickie Johnson (La. Tech, 1993-96)
Debra Williams (La. Tech, 1993-96)
Amanda Wilson (La. Tech, 1996-99)
Tamicha Jackson (La. Tech, 1997-2000)
Alisa Burras (La. Tech, 1998-99)
Betty Lennox (La. Tech, 1999-00)
Patrice Holmes (Middle Tennessee, 2001-05)
Cassandra Lumpkins (New Orleans, 1992-94)
Kristin Wilson (North Carolina-Charlotte, 1984-87)
Jalie Mitchell (North Texas, 1999-2002)
Anne Donovan (Old Dominion, 1982-1985)
Medina Dixon (Old Dominion, 1982-1985)
Tracy Claxton (Old Dominion, 1983-85)
Adrian Vickers (South Alabama, 1987-90)
Ella Williams (South Alabama, 1986-89)
Orphie Moore (South Alabama, 1984-87)
Clemette Haskins (Western Kentucky, 1984-87)
ShaRae Mansfield (Western Kentucky, 1998-2001)
Lillie Mason (Western Kentucky, 1982-86)
Kim Pehlke (Western Kentucky, 1989-92)
Tiffany Porter-Talbert (Western Kentucky, 2003-05)
Natalie Powers (Western Kentucky, 1998, 2000-02)
Kami Thomas (Western Kentucky, 1983-86)

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.