Soccer to face alumni Sunday

At least 18 former Blue Raiders to return for weekend

April 16, 2010 · Athletic Communications

MURFREESBORO, Tenn. - Two matches this weekend at Dean A. Hayes Track and Soccer Stadium will conclude the Middle Tennessee spring soccer season, which has been successful thus far. The current Blue Raiders will cap the campaign at 2 p.m. Sunday when they play host to an alumni team, featuring numerous former all-conference performers.

The two-game swing will begin at 2 p.m. Saturday against Murray State as Middle Tennessee looks to continue its spring undefeated mark. Former Blue Raider assistant Beth Acreman coaches the Racers. Also on the Murray State staff is assistant coach Claire Ward, a 2006 Middle Tennessee graduate, who was a three-time All-Sun Belt selection (Second Team, 2003, 2004, 2005) during her time as a Blue Raider.

Other alumni who garnered All-Sun Belt honors and who will be in attendance over the course of the weekend include Debs Brereton (First Team, 2004), Emily Carter (First Team, 2003), Jenny Cox (First Team, 2000), Lisa Langrish (Second Team, 2001), Laura Miguez (First Team, 2002; Second Team, 2003, 2004), Jessica Northcutt (First Team, 2003; Second Team, 2004) and Katy Rayburn (First Team, 2006; Second Team, 2005). Jennifer Robb was a two-time All-Ohio Valley choice on the league's Second Team in 1998 and 1999.

Brereton, who currently serves as the Blue Raiders' graduate assistant, earned the Sun Belt Player of the Year award after leading Middle Tennessee to the conference title in 2004. Sarah Beth Lee was picked as the recipient of the 2009 Sun Belt Sporting Behavior Award.

In addition to the alumni game Sunday, the group will hold an invitation-only social Saturday night to celebrate the Blue Raider program and its history.

Both matches this weekend are free and open to the public. A complete spring wrap-up will follow in the coming weeks, detailing information about each game the team played.

Alumni returning for this weekend:
Beth Acreman, 2006
Debs Brereton, 2004
Emily Carter, 2000-03
Jenny Cox, 2000-03
Kim Farrant, 2006-08
Rachel Holmes, 2003-05
Elise Hutter, 2005-08
Lisa Langrish, 2001
Sarah Beth Lee, 2006-09
Laura Miguez, 2001-04
Erynn Murray, 2006-09
Jessica Northcutt, 2001-04
Danielle Perreault, 2002-05
Katy Rayburn, 2003-06
Caitlin Reeves, 2005-08
Jennifer Robb, 1997-2000
Jen Threlkeld, 2006-09
Claire Ward, 2003-05

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.