Dasher on 2010 Davey O'Brien Watch List

One of 30 quarterbacks nationally

July 14, 2010 · Athletic Communications

FORT WORTH, Texas - Middle Tennessee signal-caller Dwight Dasher is on the 2010 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List as announced by the Davey O'Brien Foundation on Wednesday.

This year's list, which was compiled by a subset of The O'Brien National Selection Committee, features 30 of the nation's top collegiate quarterbacks who were selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2010 college football season. The 2010 O'Brien Watch List features 13 seniors, 13 juniors and four sophomores.

Dasher was named the Most Valuable Player in the 42-32 win over Southern Miss in the 2009 New Orleans Bowl, setting an all-time NCAA bowl record of 201 yards rushing. The Folkston, Ga., native also became just the fourth player in NCAA history to throw for 2,500 yards and rush for more than 1,000 yards in a single-season when he rang up 2,789 yards through the air in 2009 to go along with 1,154 yards on the ground.

"It is preseason recognition and it is a nice honor for Middle Tennessee and Dwight," said Head Coach Rick Stockstill. "But he would be the first to tell you that he would not be on this list if not for his teammates."

Dasher is the only quarterback on the list from the Sun Belt Conference and the only one from the state of Tennessee.

Appearing on the Watch List is not a requirement for a player to be awarded The O'Brien. Quarterbacks from all 120 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Oct. 25. The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 22. The 2010 winner will be announced on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Thursday, Dec. 9. The 34th Annual O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held Feb. 21, 2011 at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

2010 O'Brien Watch List
Matt Barkley, USC, SO, Pac-10
Zach Collaros, Cincinnati, JR, Big East
Andy Dalton, TCU, SR, MWC
Dwight Dasher, Middle Tennessee, SR, Sun Belt
Ricky Dobbs, Navy, SR, Independent
Nathan Enderle, Idaho, SR, WAC
Nick Foles, Arizona, JR, Pac-10
Blaine Gabbert, Missouri, JR, Big 12
Robert Griffin, Baylor, JR, Big 12
Jacory Harris, Miami, JR, ACC
Jerrod Johnson,Texas A&M, JR, Big 12
Landry Jones, Oklahoma, SO, Big 12
Colin Kaepernick, Nevada, SR, WAC
Case Keenum, Houston, SR, C-USA
G.J. Kinne, Tulsa, JR, C-USA
Jake Locker, Washington, SR, Pac-10
Andrew Luck, Stanford, SO, Pac-10
Ryan Mallett, Arkansas, JR, SEC
Greg McElroy, Alabama, JR, SEC
Kellen Moore, Boise State, JR, WAC
Josh Nesbitt, Georgia Tech, SR, ACC
Kyle Padron, SMU, SO, C-USA
Christian Ponder, Florida State, SR, ACC
Taylor Potts, Texas Tech, SR, Big 12
Terrelle Pryor, Ohio State, JR, Big Ten
Tom Savage, Rutgers, JR, Big East
Ricky Stanzi, Iowa, SR, Big Ten
Tyrod Taylor, Virginia Tech, SR, ACC
Scott Tolzien, Wisconsin, SR, Big Ten
Russell Wilson, NC State, JR, ACC

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.