Dasher on Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Watch List

One of 22 nationally to be selected

July 16, 2010 · Athletic Communications

MURFREESBORO, Tenn. - Middle Tennessee senior quarterback Dwight Dasher has been named to the preseason watch list for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, sponsored by the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Foundation. Dasher is one of just 22 quarterbacks nationally to make the prestigious list.

The award, which is presented annually to the top senior quarterback in the country, acknowledges performance on the field, as well as character, citizenship, integrity and those who honor the game.

Dasher was named the Most Valuable Player in the 42-32 win over Southern Miss in the 2009 New Orleans Bowl, setting an all-time NCAA bowl record of 201 yards rushing. The Folkston, Ga., native also became just the fourth player in NCAA history to throw for 2,500 yards and rush for more than 1,000 yards in a single-season when he rang up 2,789 yards through the air in 2009 to go along with 1,154 yards on the ground.

Dasher, who is also on the watch list for the Davey O'Brien Award, enters the 2010 campaign ranked first in career rushing yards by a quarterback at Middle Tennessee, fourth in total offense, fourth in completions, fifth in touchdown passes, and seventh in passing yards.

Colt McCoy of Texas won the 2009 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award.

The 2010 Preseason Watch List
Austen Arnaud, Iowa State
Ben Chappell, Indiana
Ryan Colburn, Fresno State
Andy Dalton, TCU
Dwight Dasher, MT
Pat Devlin, University of Delaware
Ricky Dobbs, Navy
Nathan Enderle, Idaho
Zach Frazer, Connecticut
Jerrod Johnson, Texas A & M
Colin Kaepernick, Nevada
Case Keenum, Houston
Jake Locker, Washington
Greg McElroy, Alabama
Josh Nesbitt, Georgia Tech
Christian Ponder, Florida State
Kevin Riley, California
Trey Revell, University of Louisiana @ Monroe
Ricky Stanzi, Iowa
Tyrod Taylor, Virginia Tech
Scott Tolzien, Wisconsin
T.J. Yates, North Carolina

Follow the Blue Raiders on Twitter @MTAthletics for continued updates.