Dasher on Paul Hornung Watch List

Recognizes most versatile player

August 17, 2010 · Athletic Communications

LOUISVILLE, KY - The Louisville Sports Commission, with football legend Paul Hornung, today announced the Watch List for the inaugural Paul Hornung Award that will be given annually to the most versatile player in major college football. Middle Tennessee's Dwight Dasher is one of 48 players on the list.

Dasher, who was the New Orleans Bowl MVP after rushing for an NCAA bowl record 201 yards, became just the fourth player in NCAA history last season to throw for more than 2,500 yards and rush for 1,000 yards in the same season.

Dasher has also been named this preseason to the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List, the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Watch List, the Manning Award, and the Walter Camp National Player of the Year Watch List.

The Paul Hornung Watch List was compiled by a panel of college football experts based on 2009 statistics and expectations heading into the 2010 season. The list will be updated during the course of the season based on players' performances.

"Paul Hornung was a playmaker and the spirit of the Paul Hornung Award is to recognize versatile, high-level performers who make an impact on the game," said Karl Schmitt, executive director of the Louisville Sports Commission. "The Watch List is a work in progress, and we are particularly pleased from the outset to draw attention to almost two dozen individuals that have not received recognition with other awards."

Nearly half of the players - a total of 23 - do not appear on any major college football award watch list published to date. Most candidates had a minimum of three different "touches" in 2009 - catching, running, passing, returning kicks, returning punts, holding for placements, tackling, deflecting / intercepting a pass or recovering a fumble.

There are 25 seniors, 18 juniors and five sophomores on the list, representing all 11 conferences that are part of the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS). Go to www.paulhornungaward.com/candidates for more information on the players. Players from all FBS teams are eligible. Appearing on the Watch List is not a prerequisite for winning the Award.

The Selection Committee will narrow the field to approximately 10-15 Finalists at the end of the regular season in early December then will select the winner at or near the end of the bowl season in early January.

2010 Paul Hornung Award Watch List
Douglas Beaumont, Louisville
Leon Berry, Mississippi State
Brandon Boykin, Georgia
LaVon Brazill, Ohio
Ryan Broyles, Oklahoma
Tyron Carrier, Houston
Randall Cobb, Kentucky
Graig Cooper, Miami
Dwight Dasher, Middle Tennessee
Ricky Dobbs, Navy
Tandon Doss, Indiana
Stephon Gilmore, South Carolina
David Gilreath, Wisconsin
Dwayne Harris, East Carolina
T.Y. Hilton, Florida International
Jerrel Jernigan, Troy
Damaris Johnson, Tulsa
Derrell Johnson-Koulianos, Iowa
Colin Kaepernick, Nevada
Jeremy Kerley, TCU
Derrick Locke, Kentucky
Owen Marecic, Stanford
Doug Martin, Boise State
Keshawn Martin, Michigan State
Josh Nesbitt, Georgia Tech
James Nixon, Temple
Warren Norman, Vanderbilt
Chris Owusu, Stanford
Eric Page, Toledo
Niles Paul, Nebraska
DeVier Posey, Ohio State
Terrelle Pryor, Ohio State
Bobby Rainey, Western Kentucky
Chris Rainey, Florida
Greg Reid, Florida State
Reggie Rembert, Air Force
Dyrell Roberts, Virginia Tech
James Rodgers, Oregon St.
Jock Sanders, West Virginia
Mohamed Sanu, Rutgers
Da'Norris Searcy, North Carolina
Torrey Smith, Maryland
Shaky Smithson, Utah
Jerrard Tarrant, Georgia Tech
Daniel Thomas, Kansas State
Shane Vereen, California
Demond Washington, Auburn
Devon Wylie, Fresno State

Follow the Blue Raiders on Twitter @MTAthletics for continued updates.