Givens Receives Votes in Naismith Player of the Year Mid-Season List

February 17, 2006 · MT Media Relations
MURFREESBORO, Tenn. - Middle Tennessee junior guard Chrissy Givens didn't make the final list of 30 mid-season candidates for Naismith Player of the Year, presented by Cingular Wireless, but the Monroe, Louisiana native did receive votes for the honor. The Naismith Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to the men's and women's players of the year.

The Top 30 list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country. The board based its criteria on player performances this season. The list was narrowed down from the pre-season list of 50 candidates who were announced at the beginning of the season.

Givens is making splash on the national women's basketball scene as she is currently ranked second in the nation in scoring averaging 21.9 points per game. She trails South Florida's Jessica Dickson who leads the nation with 22.7 points per game.

Against Arkansas State on Thursday, Givens became the 19th player in school history to reach the 1,000-point plateau. She has currently scored 30 or more points in her last four games and has scored 526 total points this season.

The Blue Raiders host their final home game of the season on Saturday when Arkansas-Little Rock comes to the Murphy Center at 7 p.m.. Currently Middle Tennessee has an overall record of 16-8 and is tied for first in the Sun Belt East with Western Kentucky with a mark of 9-2.

The mid-season candidates for the Naismith Trophy presented by Cingular Wireless, listed in alphabetical order, are as follows:

Seimone Augustus, LSU; Nikki Blue, UCLA; Monique Currie, Duke; Jessica Davenport, Ohio State; Jessica Dickson, South Florida; Shay Doron, Maryland; Megan Duffy, Notre Dame; Candice Dupree, Temple; Sylvia Fowles, LSU; Katie Gearlds, Purdue; Erin Grant, Texas Tech; Lindsey Harding, Duke; Charde Houston, UConn; Tasha Humphrey, Georgia; Tiffany Jackson, Texas; Tamara James, Miami; Crystal Langhorne, Maryland; Erlana Larkins, North Carolina; Ivory Latta, North Carolina; Courtney Paris, Oklahoma; Candace Parker, Tennessee; Cappie Pondexter, Rutgers; Noelle Quinn. UCLA; Liz Shimek, Michigan State; Khara Smith, DePaul; Kim Smith, Utah; Ann Strother, UConn; Barbara Turner, UConn; Candice Wiggins, Stanford; Sophia Young, Baylor.

Other student-athletes receiving votes included Marissa Coleman (Maryland), LaToya Davis (Texas Tech), Chrissy Givens (Middle Tenn.), Brooke Smith (Stanford) and Lisa Willis (UCLA).

Follow the Blue Raiders on Twitter @MTAthletics for continued updates.