Permanent Captains selected for Raiders

Ultimate honor in Blue Raider program

December 8, 2010 · Athletic Communications

MURFREESBORO, Tenn. - Middle Tennessee Head Coach Rick Stockstill announced recently permanent captains for the Blue Raiders. OL Mark Fisher, S Jeremy Kellem, DT Dwight Smith, and RB Phillp Tanner, were honored as the fifth group of permanent captains in the FBS era at Middle Tennessee. 

The team voted on the four captains and Coach Stockstill made the announcement during a recent team meeting.

"Like I always have said this is the ultimate honor when your teammates make you a permanent captain for the season," said Stockstill. "These four guys have meant a lot to this program and all four are very deserving. It's not just your play on the field but the way you conduct yourself off the field and how you lead and push your teammates. When your peers give you a vote for the way you practice everyday and compete on the field and in the classroom there is not a better honor out there."

Permanent Captains:
2006:  Eugene Gross, Jonathan Harris, Clint Marks, Justin Rainey
2007: Tavares Jones, DeMarco McNair, Bradley Robinson, Erik Walden
2008: Joe Craddock, Wes Hofacker, Ivon Hickmon, Trevor Jenkins
2009: Danny Carmichael, Desmond Gee, Patrick Honeycutt, Brandon Perry, Alex Suber
2010: Mark Fisher, Jeremy Kellem, Dwight Smith, Phillip Tanner

Follow the Blue Raiders on Twitter @MTAthletics for continued updates.