Lattimore tabbed Defensive Player of the Year

9 Blue Raiders honored; 4 on first team

December 8, 2010 · Athletic Communications

MURFREESBORO, Tenn. - Middle Tennessee defensive end Jamari Lattimore grabbed one of the top honors as the All-Sun Belt Conference teams were announced today by the league office. Voting was done by the head coaches and selected media representatives.

Lattimore was named the Defensive Player of the Year following a breakout season for the Blue Raiders. Lattimore had a personal-best 64 tackles, 14 of them for losses, a school record tying 11.5 sacks, 10 hurries, two blocked kicks, two forced fumbles, and a fumble recovery.

The Miami, Fla., native led the league in sacks and was second overall in tackles for loss. He currently ranks fifth nationally in sacks and needs just one more to set a new single-season record at Middle Tennessee and for the Sun Belt Conference.

Lattimore is the fifth Blue Raider in school history to earn player of the year honors and is the third defensive POY. It is also the second straight year Middle Tennessee has won the defensive award as Chris McCoy shared the honor in 2009.

Four Middle Tennessee players were honored with First Team All-Sun Belt Conference designations for their efforts during the 2010 season. Three Blue Raiders earned Second Team All-SBC honors, while two more made Honorable Mention.

Twenty-two First Team honors have occurred under Rick Stockstill in five years.

"Each individual recognized for all-conference was very deserving," added Stockstill. "They definitely had all-conference type seasons and I am especially happy for our seniors on the list since this is their final year.

"All of these guys are recognized with an individual honor but they all know it would not have been possible without the help of their teammates.”

In addition to Lattimore, Middle Tennessee landed three others on the First Team. Senior Rod Issac and senior Jeremy Kellem made the team as defensive backs, while Alan Gendreau was the place-kicker.

Issac, out of Miami, Fla., enjoyed his best all-around season as a Blue Raider. He came up with 49 tackles, 4.5 TFLs, five pass breakups, and two forced fumbles. But where Issac was really special was in the turnover department. Issac had three interceptions that he returned for 100 yards, including one for a touchdown, and also added a 100-yard fumble return against WKU for a score.

Kellem, who made the first team for the second straight year, led the Blue Raiders with 101 tackles. The North Lauderdale, Fla., native also had two interceptions and five pass breakups. Kellem is also an academic All-American for 2010.

Gendreau also made the top unit in back-to-back years. The Apopka, Fla., product made 10 of 12 field goals, including a monster 55 yarder, and 41 of 42 extra points.

Second team honors went to running back Phillip Tanner, offensive tackle Mark Fisher, and punter Josh Davis.

Tanner has enjoyed a career year with a personal-best 841 yards rushing on 149 attempts to go with 11 touchdowns. He is fourth in the league in rushing and is within reach of the 2,000-yard mark for his career.

Fisher, a second team member a year ago, started all 11 games he played and was in on 723 snaps during the course of the season. He also led all offensive linemen with 14 winning grades from the coaching staff.

Davis, a redshirt freshman, averaged 43.0 yards a punt on 52 attempts to rank second in the SBC. Davis had 15 punts of 50 or more yards and placed 18 of his kicks inside the opponents 20-yard line.

Honorable Mention honors went to senior Dwight Smith and junior Eric Russell. Smith registered 36 tackles, 6.5 TFLs, 2.5 sacks, three pass breakups, three hurries, and a blocked kick. Russell was third in the league in punt return average and kickoff return average.

The final game of the season will be the GoDaddy.com Bowl on Jan. 6. Middle Tennessee will face MAC Champion Miami (Ohio) at 7 PM on ESPN. For bowl information please log onto GoBlueRaiders.com or text BOWLMT to 90210.


Player of the Year: T.Y. Hilton (FIU, Jr., WR)

Offensive Player of the Year: Bobby Rainey (WKU, Jr., RB)

Defensive Player of the Year: Jamari Lattimore (Middle Tennessee, Sr., DL)

Freshman of the Year: Corey Robinson (Troy, Fr., QB)

Coach of the Year: Mario Cristobal, FIU

First Team All-Sun Belt Conference

Ryan Aplin (Arkansas State, So., QB)
Lance Dunbar (North Texas, Jr., RB)
Bobby Rainey (WKU, Jr., RB)
T.Y. Hilton (FIU, Jr., WR)
Jerrel Jernigan (Troy, Sr., WR)
Ladarius Green (Louisiana-Lafayette, Jr., TE)
Brad Serini (FIU, Sr., OL)
Tyler Clark (Troy, Sr., OL)
Victor Gill (North Texas, Sr., OL)
Derek Newton (Arkansas State, Sr., OL)
Esteban Santiago (North Texas, Sr., OL)

Bryan Hall (Arkansas State, Sr., DL)
Jamari Lattimore (Middle Tennessee, Sr., DL)
Jonathan Massaquoi (Troy, So., DL)
Jarvis Wilson (FIU, Sr., DL)
Demario Davis (Arkansas State, Jr., LB)
Toronto Smith (FIU, Sr., LB)
Craig Robertson (North Texas, Sr., LB)
M.D. Jennings (Arkansas State, Sr., DB)
Anthony Gaitor (FIU, Sr., DB)
Rod Issac (Middle Tennessee, Sr., DB)
Jeremy Kellem (Middle Tennessee, Sr., DB)

 Special Teams
Alan Gendreau (Middle Tennessee, Jr., K)
Mickey Groody (Florida Atlantic, R-Jr., P)
T.Y. Hilton (FIU, Jr., Return Specialist)
Jerrel Jernigan (Troy, Sr., All Purpose)

Second Team All-Sun Belt Conference

Corey Robinson (Troy, Fr., QB)
Phillip Tanner (Middle Tennessee, Sr., RB)
Darriet Perry (FIU, Jr., RB)
Lester Jean (Florida Atlantic, Sr., WR)
Luther Ambrose (Louisiana-Monroe, Jr., WR)
Rob Housler (Florida Atlantic, R-Sr., TE)
Tom Castilaw (Arkansas State, Sr., OL)
Sifa Etu (Arkansas State, Sr., OL)
Ian Burks (Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr., OL)
Mark Fisher (Middle Tennessee, Sr., OL)
James Brown (Troy, Jr., OL) 

Dorvus Woods (Arkansas State, Jr., DL)
Tourek Williams (FIU, So., DL)
Ken Dorsey (Louisiana-Monroe, Jr., DL)
Mario Addison (Troy, Sr., DL)
Javon McKinnon (Arkansas State, Sr., LB)
Michael Lockley (Florida Atlantic, R-Sr., LB)
Thomas Majors (WKU, Sr., LB)
Marcus Bartels (Florida Atlantic, R-Jr., DB)
Tavious Polo (Florida Atlantic, R-Sr., DB)
Jonathan Cyprien (FIU, So., DB)
Darius Prelow (Louisiana-Monroe, Jr., DB)

Special Teams
Zach Olen (North Texas, Fr., K)
Josh Davis (Middle Tennessee, Fr., P)
Jerrel Jernigan (Troy, Sr., Return Specialist)
T.Y. Hilton (FIU, Jr., All-Purpose)

Honorable Mention All-Sun Belt Confernece
Dwayne Frampton (Arkansas State, Jr., WR); Allen Muse (Arkansas State, So., WR); Tarvoris Hill (Florida Atlantic, R-Sr., DB); Jeff Van Camp (Florida Atlantic, R-Sr., QB); Greg Ellingson (FIU, Sr., WR); Winston Fraser (FIU, R-So., LB); Orkeys Auriene (Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr., DB); Spencer Ortego (Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr., P); Kolton Browning (ULM, R-Fr., QB); Cameron Blakes (ULM, So., LB); Eric Russel (Middle Tennessee, Junior, RS); Dwight Smith (Middle Tennessee, Sr., DL); Brelan Chancellor (North Texas, Fr. RS); Will Goggans (Troy, Jr., P); Michael Taylor (Troy, Jr., K); Orlando Misaalefua (WKU, Sr., LB); Mychal Patterson (WKU, Sr., OL)

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.