Track shows well at MT Christmas Invitational

Teams take 15 individual victories

December 11, 2010 · Athletic Communications

MURFREESBORO, Tenn. - The Middle Tennessee track and field teams won a combined 15 events on Saturday, as the squads opened indoor competition playing host at the MT Christmas Invitational at Murphy Center.

Of the 15 victories, the men's squad took eight events with the women winning seven.

"It was a good first meet," said head coach Dean Hayes. "You want to go out and perform well early in the season and we did."

For the men's team, Roscoe Payne won the 55 meter hurdles in a lifetime best 7.40.

Noah Akwu took victory in his first race competing for Middle Tennessee. The Egume, Nigeria native won the 400 meters in a time of 48.56. Teammate Steven Palmer finished second in the event in 48.77.

David Boiywo won the mile in a time of 4:31.66. The race was essentially a two man affair from the very beginning as Boiywo and teammate Chris Mason battled throughout the entire contest. Boiywo would eventually out kick Mason on the last lap to cruise to victory. Mason finished second clocking 4:35.30.

Festus Chemaoi took victory in the 3,000 meters in 8:32.5

In the jumps, Josh Butler won both the high and triple jumps, recording marks of 6-4 (1.93m) and 50-4 (15.34m), respectively. Freshman Cordario Golden took second in the high and third in the triple with respective marks of 6-2 (1.88m) and 48-8.25 (14.84m).

The mile relay team of Nathaniel Moore, Palmer, Payne and Akwu concluded the day with a win in a time of 3:15.90.

"I was really pleased with our relay team. It is still early, but they could be pretty good and it is always nice to know you have that that last event in your pocket at the end of a meet."

On the women's side, sophomore Ann Dudley tied a school record in the high jump, leaping 5-8 (1.79m) in a winning effort. Her jump matches school standards set by Veronia Tipton in 1991, Mia Florence in 1995 and Cherice Robertson last season. Robertson also jumped 5-8 (1.79m) on Saturday.

Robertson would later take victory in the 55 meters hurdles in a time of 7.96.

Nyeisha Wright won the long jump with Kortney Thurman placing third and Kiara Henry finishing fifth. Wright, the current Sun Belt Indoor Champion in the event, recorded a mark of 20-1 (6.12m) in the first contest of her 2010-11 campaign. Thurman and Henry leapt 19-9 (6.02m) and 19-2 (5.84m), respectively.

In the triple jump, transfer France Makabu was the second collegiate finisher, leaping 41-1.25 (12.53m) for a pr.

In the sprints, Henry won the 55 meters in 7.06 and later the 200 meters in 24.69. Amber Jackson placed second in the 400 meters in a time of 57.63.

In the distance events, Autumn Gipson won the 800 meters in 2:19.50 with Rachel Islam coming in second in 2:22.17.

Deanna Brasz finished fourth in the mile in a time of 5:08.42. The freshman ran well staying with the lead runners of a competitive field for most of the race, before dropping back to fourth with a quarter-mile to go.

"All the winners had good performances. They have something to gauge where they are at this point in the season. Now they can continue to improve."

The teams will return to action on January 8 at the Tennessee State Invitational.

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.