Blue Raiders Fall at ASU, 5-2

April 2, 2006 · MT Media Relations
MURFREESBORO, Tenn. - Middle Tennessee won a pair of singles matches but played without two players on Sunday in a 5-2 loss at Arkansas State in Jonesboro, Ark.

Freshman Kelly Adams did not make the weekend trip after treatment during the week for a recurring back injury.

ASU's Paula Chelminska and Marina Engelbrecht defeated Ann-Kristin Siljestrom and Claudia Szabo, 9-7, at No. 1. Middle Tennessee's Pooja Kommireddi and Elvira Yusupova led 7-6 at No. 2 over Freshman Marlene Chemin withdrew from her singles match on Saturday because of sickness and dehydration and did not play at all on Sunday.

The Blue Raiders (6-12) lost one doubles match but led in another when the threat of weather forced the match to stop.Renee Branker and Zeljka Minic when the match was stopped so singles could be played before rain hit the area.

In singles Siljestrom and Kommireddi continued their winning ways and Yusupova suffered a three-set defeat.

With Chemin not playing, everyone moved up in the lineup. Szabo played at No. 1 for the first time in her career, falling 4-6, 3-6, to Engelbrecht. Yusupova dropped a 6-2, 1-6, 0-6, decision to Minic at No. 2.

Siljestrom defeated Maria Oprea, 6-2, 3-6, 7-5, at No. 3, and Kommireddi ran her winning streak to nine with a 6-2, 6-0, victory over Karen Saravia at No. 4.

Middle Tennessee continues its current four-match road swing next weekend with matches at UAB and Memphis. The Blue Raiders host Marshall on Saturday, April 15, in the final home match of the year.

Arkansas State 5, Middle Tennessee 2

1. Marina Engelbrecht (ASU) def. Claudia Szabo (MT), 6-4, 6-3
2. Zeljka Minic (ASU) def. Elvira Yusupova (MT), 2-6, 6-1, 6-0
3. Ann-Kristin Siljestrom (MT) def. Maria Oprea (ASU), 6-2, 3-6, 7-5
4. Pooja Kommireddi (MT) def. Karen Saravia (ASU), 6-2, 6-0
5. Renee Branker (ASU) won by default
6. Melissa Silva (ASU) won by default

1. Paula Chelminska-Engelbrecht (ASU) def. Siljestrom-Szabo (MT), 9-7
2. Kommireddi-Yusupova (MT) vs. Branker-Minic (ASU), DNF
3. Saravia-Oprea (ASU) won by default

Follow the Blue Raiders on Twitter @MTAthletics for continued updates.