Munsch named to SBC 30-year anniversary team

April 6, 2006 · MT Media Relations
MURFREESBORO, Tenn. - The Middle Tennessee women's golf program has only been around since 2001 but it has already made a huge impression on the Sun Belt Conference. The league office, which continues to celebrate its 30th anniversary this year, announced its all-time men's and women's golf team today and former star Tamara Munsch was selected as a member of the prestigious group.

A total of 32 men's players and 30 women's players were selected to the team, which was voted on by a 26-member media panel. The Middle Tennessee men's program did not have a golfer make the list.

"This is a great honor for our young program," said Head Coach Rachael Short. "Tamara accomplished a great deal in her three years and was a key figure in our program getting off to a good start. It's great to see that her success did not go unnoticed."

Munsch played for the Blue Raiders from 2001 to 2004 where she was a first team all-conference selection each season. In 2002, Munsch became the first Blue Raider to win a tournament when she took the Chris Banister Classic.

Maria Jose Hurtado (1999-2003), Arkansas-Little Rock
Sofia Josefsson (1996-99, 2000-01), Arkansas-Little Rock
Leisha Smith (1995-98), Arkansas-Little Rock
Gisselle Wusyk (1993-96), Arkansas-Little Rock
Linda Svenson (2001-04), Arkansas-Little Rock
Amanda Beeler (1998-2001), Arkansas State
Rebecca Sarjeant (1996-99), Arkansas State
Rachael Stewart (1994-97), Arkansas State
Kristine Worden (1998-2001), Arkansas State
Christine Anast (1999-2003), Denver
Emily Hoeper (2003-current), Denver
Kelly Schaub (1998-2003), Denver
Courtney Burdick (2001-04), Florida International
Michelle Simpson (1997-2001), Florida International
Louisa Bergsma (1991-92), Lamar
Andrea Dobson (1991-95), Lamar
Tamara Munsch (2001-04), Middle Tennessee
Rachel Bailey (2001-03), New Mexico State
Alena Sharp (2001-03), New Mexico State
Lehua Wise (2003-05), New Mexico State
Crystal Elliers (1999-2003), New Orleans
Carmen Goodrich (1994-97), New Orleans
Randi Gauthier (2000-03), North Texas
Kassie Goodfellow (1997-99), South Alabama
Jennifer Krupa (1995-98), South Alabama
Angie Stafford (1993-95), South Alabama
Danielle Barker (1993-96), Western Kentucky
Beth Blevins (1996-99), Western Kentucky
Jamie Hagedorn (1997-2000), Western Kentucky
Jennifer Moore (1991-94), Western Kentucky

ALL-TIME WOMEN'S PLAYER: Alena Sharp, New Mexico State
ALL-TIME WOMEN'S COACH: Sammie Chergo, Denver

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.