Washington receives All-Sun Belt honors

Senior has scored 20 or more points seven times this season

March 2, 2011 · MT Athletic Communications
NEW ORLEANS - Senior James Washington received Second Team All-Sun Belt honors as announced by the league office on Thursday.

It is the first such honor for Washington who has led the Blue Raiders throughout the 2010-11 season both as a point guard and scorer. The St. Louis, Mo., native has posted double figure scoring in all but eight games for the Blue Raiders.

Washington has scored 20 or more points seven times this season. He currently ranks in the Top-15 in the Sun Belt in five statistical categories and is first in free throws.

"I thought that James was very deserving of the award. There are a number of talented perimeter players in our league and I thought that he had a really good senior year. Hopefully he will carry that over into the conference tournament," head coach Kermit Davis said.

Against Auburn, Washington posted a season high 25 points after going 7 for 11 from the field, which included four three-pointers. He dished out a season high seven assists against South Alabama as the Blue Raiders took an 85-62 win.

Washington has made seven or more free throws in a single game six times and has not missed any attempts 12 times. He currently ranks second in the league in free throws with a .850 percentage and in Sun Belt action is first with a .882 percentage.

At UL-Lafayette, he made all nine of his free throws and ended the game with 23 points, which included five treys. Against North Texas, the Blue Raiders kept chipping away and took the lead on a layup by Washington never looking back although the Mean Green tried to take it away.

Washington ended the game with eight points but dished out three assists and had two steals in the win. At rival Western Kentucky, scored 24 points after making five three pointers and all seven of his free throw attempts.

"The first, second and third teams are full of talented players. I really thought that Jason Jones would make an All-Sun Belt team and that he is very deserving. I nominated Trevor Ottley for Defensive Player of the Year but he was beat out by a very good player in Brett Royster. I think that it shows the quality of depth in the league which should make for an outstanding tournament," Davis said.

Washington along with fellow seniors Rod Emanuel and Trevor Ottley will continue to lead the Blue Raiders at the Sun Belt Championships as they have done throughout the season. Middle Tennessee opens the tournament on Sunday, March 6 at 9 p.m. after receiving a first round bye. The Blue Raiders will face the winner of FIU vs. Denver in the quarterfinals.

Chip Walters will call all of the action in Hot Springs, Ark., and can be heard on the Blue Raider Network as well as on goblueraiders.com. Contact the Blue Raider ticket office at 1-888-YES-MTSU for tournament ticket booklets. More information on all of the scheduled events at the Sun Belt Championships in Hot Springs, Ark., may be found on the Sun Belt Conference website, www.sunbeltsports.org.

Complete All-Sun Belt Teams and Awards First Team All-Sun Belt Conference Solomon Bozeman (UALR, Senior, G) Raymond Taylor (Florida Atlantic, Sophomore, G) Tristan Thompson (North Texas, Senior, G) Sergio Kerusch (WKU, Senior, F) Steffphon Pettigrew (WKU, Senior, F) Second Team All-Sun Belt Conference Martavius Adams (Arkansas State, Junior, G) Chase Hallam (Denver, Sophomore, G) Greg Gantt (Florida Atlantic, Sophomore, G) J.J. Thomas (Louisiana-Lafayette, Freshman, F) James Washington (Middle Tennessee, Senior, G) Third Team All-Sun Belt Conference Donald Boone (Arkansas State, Senior, G) Brett Royster (Florida Atlantic, Senior, F) Travis Bureau (Louisiana-Lafayette, Senior, F) Augustine Rubit (South Alabama, R-Freshman, C) Will Weathers (Troy, Sophomore, G) Sun Belt Conference Player of the Year Solomon Bozeman (UALR, Senior, G) Sun Belt Conference Defensive Player of the Year Brett Royster (Florida Atlantic, Senior, F) Sun Belt Conference Freshman of the Year Augustine Rubit (South Alabama, R-Freshman, C) The Joe Gottfried Coach of the Year Mike Jarvis, Florida Atlantic

Follow the Blue Raiders on Twitter @MTAthletics for continued updates.