BRAA hosts Appreciation Dinner

Annual awards announced to crowd of 800

August 6, 2011 · Athletic Communications
MURFREESBORO, Tenn. - The Blue Raider Athletic Association held its annual Appreciation Dinner at Murphy Center recently and announced the yearly award winners for the organization. The event drew more than 800 members.

At the end of each academic year the BRAA recognizes three members. The Roxie McHenry Loyalty Award goes to an individual who has been a long-time fan and supporter of Blue Raider Athletics. The Business Person of Year Award goes to a company that has done a lot to grow the Blue Raider Athletic Association.

The 2011 Roxey McHenry Loyalty Award went to long-time Blue Raider supporter John Morris, while the 2011 Liz Rhea Member of the Year Award was presented to Don and Hanna Witherspoon.

The late Jeff Hendrix was voted the 2011 BRAA's Business Person of the Year Award. His wife, Kay, accepted the honor which will now be named the Jeff Hendrix Business Person of the Year Award.

The Outgoing President Award was presented to Richard Lewis in appreciation of his efforts during the 2010-11 academic year, while Brian Hercules was ushered in as the president for 2011-12.

The BRAA also announced the "Signing Day" MVP from the spring and that award went to Danny Page.

Follow the Blue Raiders on Twitter @MTAthletics for continued updates.