Dendy named a Lou Henson Mid-Major Player of the Year nominee

Senior forward among 25 candidates for the prestigious honor

February 17, 2012 · Athletic Communications
BOSTON - Middle Tennessee’s LaRon Dendy has been nominated for the Lou Henson Mid-Major Player of the Year Award, as announced on Friday by POINT 3 and CollegeInsider.com. Dendy is among 25 candidates for the honor, which will be announced on March 30 in New Orleans, La.

Fans can join in the voting this season online via VoteLouHenson.com. The fan vote will count for one-third of the final decision. A CollegeInsider.com Selection Committee will account for the remaining two-thirds.

Dendy has been a force for the Blue Raiders this season, posting five double-doubles and 20 double-figure scoring performances, including eight games of 20-or-more points. He ranks second in the Sun Belt in scoring with 14.7 points per game and third in rebounding at 7.0 boards per game. The 6-9 forward is third among Lou Henson candidates with 45 blocks and 10th among the nominees in rebounding.

A native of Greenville, S.C., Dendy has earned Sun Belt Player of the Week honors twice this season and has scored double-figures in his last six games. He has started every game and ranks third on the team with 53 assists.

The Lou Henson Award is presented annually to the top Mid-Major player in Division I basketball. The award is named in honor of Lou Henson who retired after a spectacular coaching career that lasted 41 years. When he left the game in 2005 he was sixth all-time in career Division I wins with 779. He is the winningest coach at both Illinois and New Mexico State. He is one of only 12 coaches in the history of the game to take two schools to the Final Four. Butler's Matt Howard won the award in 2011.

2012 Lou Henson Award Nominees
Julian Boyd, Long Island
Isaiah Canaan, Murray State
Torrey Craig, USC Upstate
Matthew Dellavedova, St. Mary's
LaRon Dendy, Middle Tennessee
Shane Gibson, Sacred Heart
Michael Glover, Iona
Reggie Hamilton, Oakland
Orlando Johnson, UC Santa Barbara
Jarrod Jones, Ball State
Damian Lillard, Weber State
Scott Machado, Iona
C.J. McCollum, Lehigh
Doug McDermott, Creighton
Tony Mitchell, North Texas
Dominique Morrison, Oral Roberts
Kevin Murphy, Tennessee Tech
Mike Muscala, Bucknell
Kyle O'Quinn, Norfolk State
Lamarcus Reed, UT-Arlington
Zack Rosen, Penn
Gerardo Suero, Albany
Casper Ware, Long Beach State
Kyle Weems, Missouri State
Nate Wolters, South Dakota St

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.