Tough competition awaits Blue Raiders at HEB tournament

Five ranked teams comprise field

March 1, 2012 · Athletic Communications
Tournament Bracket

MURFREESBORO, Tenn. - Fresh off its first national ranking since 2009, the No. 63 Middle Tennessee men’s tennis team heads to Corpus Christi, Texas, for the 46th annual HEB Tournament of Champions March 2-3. The Blue Raiders open the tournament against the hosting Texas A&M Islanders on Friday at 9 a.m. CT at the Thomas J. Henry Tennis Center.

In addition to MT and Texas A&M-CC, the tournament features six other squads, including four among the ITA’s national rankings. No. 55 New Mexico and Western Michigan are on the Blue Raiders’ side of the bracket, while No. 61 South Alabama, No. 64 Oklahoma State, No. 73 DePaul and Louisiana comprise the other side.

MT (4-3) has won four of its last five matches, including a 4-3 victory over No. 74 ETSU in the last outing on Feb. 18. Ben Davis has served as MT’s top competitor, compiling a 5-2 dual and 13-6 overall individual record. Davis has won five consecutive singles matches, including two victories over opponents from ranked programs. Christoph Lang also has been steady for the Blue Raiders, winning four of his last five singles matches for a 5-2 dual and 7-3 overall individual record in the No. 3 and 4 slots.

The Islanders (4-3) knocked off New Mexico State, 4-3 in their last outing. Peter Nagy holds a 4-2 individual dual record from the No. 1 slot, while Fernando Llorens is 5-1 having seen action in slots 3-6. Nathan Robinson is on a four-match winning streak, carrying an undefeated (4-0) dual record into the weekend with three wins from the six-hole and one from the four-spot.

Following Friday morning’s match, MT will face either top-seeded New Mexico or Western Michigan at 4 p.m. CT. The tournament concludes on Saturday and the Blue Raiders will play at either 9 a.m. or noon. For updates throughout the tournament, follow @IslandersTennis on Twitter.

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.