Dendy wins fan vote for Lou Henson Player of the Year Award

Senior forward edged Creighton's McDermott by 58 votes

March 14, 2012 · Athletic Communications
POINT 3 Release

BOSTON - Middle Tennessee’s LaRon Dendy took first place in the fan voting for the Lou Henson Player of the Year Award, as announced by POINT 3 Basketball and CollegeInsider.com on Wednesday. Dendy edged Creighton’s Doug McDermott by 58 votes to claim the title, while Murray State’s Isaiah Canaan rounded out the top three.

Dendy received 773 votes, accounting for 16.53 percent of the overall voting. McDermott collected 715 votes (15.29%) and Canaan had 457 votes (9.78%). Thanks to the support of Blue Raider fans, POINT 3 will make a contribution to Middle Tennessee’s general scholarship fund and also will throw the student body a viewing party for the 2012 NCAA Men’s Basketball Championship.

The Lou Henson Award is presented annually to the top mid-major player in Division I basketball. The fan vote counts for one-third of the final selection. A CollegeInsider.com Selection Committee comprises the final two-thirds of the vote. The winner will be announced on March 30 in New Orleans, La.

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.