Insell set for induction into Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame Saturday

Fourth Hall of Fame honor for Blue Raider head coach

May 18, 2012 · Athletic Communications

MURFREESBORO, Tenn. – Middle Tennessee head women’s basketball coach Rick Insell will be one of 10 Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame inductees Saturday evening at the annual recognition banquet at the Renaissance Hotel in Nashville, Tenn. Insell becomes the 19th member of the Hall of Fame with a connection to Blue Raider athletics.

“I am truly honored and humbled by the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame including me in its 2012 class,” Insell said. “Without the support of many people over the years, this would not be possible.”

Insell will join his fourth Hall of Fame with the honor. He previously has been included as a member of the Tennessee Secondary Schools Athletic Association Hall of Fame (2003) and National High School Hall of Fame (2007), as well as the 2010 recipient of the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame’s Morgan Wootten Award for Lifetime Achievement for High School Girls’ Basketball.

The Woodbury, Tenn., native concluded his seventh season at Middle Tennessee in 2011-12, having earned six NCAA Tournament appearances, coached five All-Americans and had three of his players picked to the WNBA during his tenure. He finished the campaign with a 174-54 (.763) ledger to go along with his five Sun Belt regular-season championships and four Sun Belt Tournament. He has moved into second place on the school’s all-time wins list, needing just eight victories to tie the career mark.

Prior to coming lead the Blue Raider program, Insell coached for 28 years (1978-2005) at Shelbyville Central High School in Shelbyville, Tenn. He logged a 775-148 (.840) record with the Golden Eaglettes, guiding them to a state-record 10 TSSAA Class 3A state championships and two USA Today national championships.

A name synonymous with high school girl’s basketball in the state, Insell’s teams hold the Tennessee state records for consecutive wins (110), consecutive state titles with four (1989-92) and most state championships for a coach with 10 (1986-89-90-91-92-95-2000-01-03-04).

His 1991 Golden Eaglette squad was selected as the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame Team of the Year, the first high school team to be honored.

The Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame is a non-profit institution located inside the Bridgestone Arena in the heart of downtown Nashville.

MT Athletic Connections to Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame
Charles Anderson
Dewon Brazelton
Fred Delay
Barton Dodson
Boots Donnelly
Jimmy Earle
Larry Gilbert
Dave Hall
Dean Hayes
Rick Insell
Dr. Billy Jones
Jack Martin
Marynell Meadors
Charles Murphy
Preston Overall
Jim Painter
Reese Smith Jr.
John Stanford
Kim Webb

Follow the Blue Raiders on Twitter @MTAthletics for continued updates.