Amos named finalist for Geico Play of the Year

Voting open now until Nov. 12

November 5, 2012 · @MTAthletics

CHICAGO - Middle Tennessee senior wide receiver Anthony Amos' leaping, one-handed touchdown catch vs. Georgia Tech September 29 is a finalist for the GEICO Play of the Year, Intersport announced today. For eight weeks, fans voted for the GEICO Play of the Year and the eight winners will be shown on GEICO Best of College Football 2012 on CBS Nov. 23 at 1:30 p.m. ET. 

In addition to recognizing the season's top plays, the one-hour CBS special relives the season's greatest moments, players and traditions. The show also marks the culmination of the GEICO "Best of 2012" Football Tour, an interactive fan experience that visits 30 marquee games throughout the football season. 

For the past eight weeks, four show-stopping college football plays were nominated as the Play of the Year on the GEICO Best of College Football Facebook page (facebook.com/bestofcollegefootball). Winners were determined by fan voting and will now compete in the finals to determine the play of the 2012 GEICO Play of the Year. All eight plays will be shown on GEICO Best of College Football on CBS in a countdown format. 

Trailing 7-0 midway through the first quarter, Middle Tennessee was in the red zone looking to even the game. Quarterback Logan Kilgore rolled out of the pocket and tossed a pass off his back foot toward the back of the end zone. The ball was high, but Amos was able to rein it in by using every inch of his 5'11" frame as he leaped and controlled the pass with one out-stretched hand. Amos had the presence of mind to tap his toes in bounds before hitting the sideline for the touchdown. The Blue Raiders would go on to rout the Yellow Jackets 49-28. 

Amos' back-of-the-end-zone grab is competing against seven other weekly winners, including: a one-handed catch by Ohio State's Devin Smith, a game-winning TD scramble by Louisiana Monroe's Kolton Browning, an unbelievable touchdown grab by Notre Dame's John Goodman, a leaping snag by Wyoming's Jalen Claiborne, a touchdown catch in heavy traffic by UNLV's Taylor Barnhill, a successful trick play TD grab by Ohio's quarterback, Tyler Tettleton and a tackle-breaking scramble and TD throw by Eastern Washington's Vernon Adams. 

To watch and vote for Amos or any of the finalists, visit www.facebook.com/BestofCollegeFootball. Fans can vote once a day. Finals voting is now open and ends Monday, Nov. 12 at 11:59 a.m. CT.

Follow the Blue Raiders on Twitter @MTAthletics for continued updates.