Blue Raiders rack up Sun Belt accolades

Men's and women's teams garner awards

March 6, 2013 · @MTAthletics

NEW ORLEANS - Middle Tennessee men's and women's basketball raked in Sun Belt postseason honors as announced by the league office on Wednesday. Men's head coach Kermit Davis was named the Sun Belt Coach of the Year for the second straight season, senior guard Bruce Massey earned the league's Defensive Player of the Year honor and three Blue Raiders on both the men's and women's teams took home all-conference accolades.

The women received two first-team nods in Ebony Rowe and Kortni Jones, in addition to Icelyn Elie's second-team accolade. On the men's side, Marcos Knight took home first-team honors, while Massey and Raymond Cintron were named to the third team.

For a full release about the men's all-conference selections, click here. For a full release about the women's all-conference selections, click here.

In addition, 2013 Sun Belt Conference Tournament booklets are on sale at the Middle Tennessee athletic ticket office. Cost per booklet is $83 and includes a ticket to all eight sessions of the Sun Belt Championships, March 8-11, in Hot Springs, Ark. Fans can purchase booklets by calling 1-888-YES-MTSU or visiting goblueraiders.com.

Follow the Blue Raiders on Twitter @MTAthletics for continued updates.