Nominees announced for Raiders Choice Awards

Event begins Thursday night at 5:30 PM in Tucker Theater

April 30, 2013 · @MTAthletics

MURFREESBORO, Tenn. - The Raiders Choice Awards committee has released the nominees for Thursday night's year-end Academy Awards style show as announced on Tuesday. The annual event is set for 5:30 PM at the Tucker Theatre on campus and is open to the public. A limited number of tickets can be obtained by calling the ticket office.

Following is a list of the 2013 nominees:

Female Newcomer of the Year
• Kate Loye, soccer
• Julia Kitevski, cross country
• Irina Constantinide, women's tennis
• Chelsea Ross, volleyball
• Indian Hammond, women's track
• Caroline Warden, women's basketball
• Niki Campbell, softball
• Avery George, women's golf

Male Newcomer of the Year
• Zac Curtis, baseball
• Kevin Byard, football
• Eliud Rutto, men's track
• Victor Cornea, men's tennis
• Neiko Hunter, men's basketball
• Payne Denman, men's golf

Play of the Year (Fan Vote)
• Reggie Whatley 96-yard kickoff return for game-winning score vs WKU
• Anthony Amos one-handed grab for TD vs GT. ESPN called it "ridiculous"
• Allison Stallard and Tori Hawkins score two goals within 25 seconds to give MT Soccer a 2-1 win over South Alabama
• Shawn Jones' tip-in vs. FIU at the buzzer to complete 20-point comeback
• Kerry Hammonds' steal and layup with 31 seconds left to seal win over Vanderbilt
• Ryan Stephens' catch vs. #2 Vanderbilt
• Kortni Jones appears in State Farm 3-Point Shootout
• Icelyn Elie's game-winning 3-point shot against North Texas

Performance of the Year (Fan Vote)
• Benny Cunningham vs. Georgia Tech (rushed for 217 yards and 5 TDs)
• Icelyn Elie vs. Memphis (30 points, 13-19 FGs, 5 reb., 4 assists)
• Kerry Hammonds vs ULL (27 pts in 27 minutes on 10 of 11 shooting, 6 threes)
• Ann Dudley broke school record in winning high jump event at Penn Relays
• Jordan Cooper strikes out 10 in win over Memphis

Game/Event of the Year (Fan Vote)
• Football win at Georgia Tech
• Men's basketball win vs. Vanderbilt
• Men's basketball 20-point comeback at FIU
• Women's Basketball SBC Championship title over UALR
• Soccer's 3-2 double OT win at FAU
• Baseball win over No. 2 ranked Vanderbilt
• Women's Golf wins Blue Raider Invitational
• Men's Tennis upsets No. 34 NC State

Most Improved Player
• Michael Adkins, baseball
• Caroline Warden, women's basketball
• Laura Dukes, softball
• Logan Kilgore, football
• Paige Goeglein, soccer

All-American Recognition
• Paige Goeglein (Academic All-American)
• Kevin Byard (Freshman All-American)
• Ebony Rowe (Honorable Mention Associated Press All-American)
• Ann Dudley (All-American)
• Johnathan Frebis (Freshman All-American)
• Justin Guidry (Third Team All-American)

Female Athlete of the Year
• Paige Goeglein, soccer
• Ebony Rowe, women's basketball
• Ann Dudley, women's track

Male Athlete of the Year
• Marcos Knight, basketball
• Benny Cunningham, football
• Cordairo Golden, men's track

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.