GoBlueRaiders.com THE OFFICIAL WEBSITE OF MIDDLE TENNESSEE STATE UNIVERSITY ATHLETICS

Rutto breaks own school record in 800-meter finals

Freshman caps off successful campaign as first team All-American

June 7, 2013 · @MTAthletics

EUGENE, Ore. - Middle Tennessee freshman Eliud Rutto broke a school record he set earlier this year with a strong run in the 800-meter finals on Friday at the NCAA Championships.

The Eldoret, Kenya native shaved off .59 hundredths of his previous school record to establish a new mark of 1:48.07 on Friday. His previous school record mark of 1:48.66 was set at the NCAA East Regionals last month.

Rutto finished seventh nationally and automatically earned first team All-America accolades. He joins four other Blue Raiders that garnered second team All-America honors last night in the 4x400-meter relay.

Oregon's Elijah Greer won the 800-meter title with his run of 1:46.58, while Penn State's Casimir Loxsom and Brannon Kidder finished second and third, respectively. Rutto joined PSU's Kidder as just one of two freshmen to appear in the finals for the event.

"He didn't know what event he was in when he came here," said head coach Dean Hayes. "He really has no experience and that's a great way for him to finish his year. He's got a lot to look forward to in the future."

The NCAA Championships close out on Saturday with two Blue Raiders set to compete. Cordairo Golden partakes in the triple jump at 2:30 p.m. CT/12:30 p.m. PT, while Ann Dudley competes in the high jump at 2:45 p.m. CT/12:45 p.m. PT. Both of those events will be highlighted on ESPNU.

NCAA CHAMPIONSHIPS RESULTS - DAY 3 (MT Only)

800-meter Run Finals 

7. Eliud Rutto - 1:48.07

Follow the Blue Raiders on Twitter @MTAthletics for continued updates.