GoBlueRaiders.com THE OFFICIAL WEBSITE OF MIDDLE TENNESSEE STATE UNIVERSITY ATHLETICS

Tugumisirize advances to finals at World University Games

Senior clocked time of 46.19 in 400m dash to reach finals

July 8, 2013 · @MTAthletics
<p><strong>KAZAN, Russia -</strong> Middle Tennessee's Emmanuel Tugumisirize advanced to the finals of the 400-meter dash on Monday at the 27th annual World University Games. </p><p>The senior, who is representing Uganda, opened the games on Sunday with a time of 47.52 seconds to win his heat in the first round.&#160;</p><p>He followed up that performance on Monday with a mark of 46.19 to qualify for the eight-man final on Tuesday. The Kampula, Uganda product is set to run at 8:20 p.m. MSK in Kazan, which is 11:20 a.m. CT. </p><p>College teammate and fellow countryman Geoffrey Akena also competed in the 400-meter dash. The freshman clocked a time of 49.28 for sixth in his heat and did not qualify for the semifinals.&#160;</p><p>Akena and Tugumisirize are scheduled to run in the 4x100-meter relay for Uganda on Thursday, July 11 at 7:00 p.m. MSK/10 a.m. CT. Results of the meet can be found at <a href="http://kazan2013.ru/en">kazan2013.ru/en</a>. </p>

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.